‘Game of Thrones’ Prequel Series ‘Knight of the Seven Kingdoms’ Reveals Episode Count and Name Change, Adds ‘Black Mirror’ Director

'Game of Thrones' Prequel Series 'Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: The Hedge Knight' Reveals Two New Cast Members!

Game of Thrones was a major hit for HBO, regardless of whether you liked the ending or not, and it is still regarded as one of the best series of all time, especially within the fantasy genre. HBO is currently preparing for the second season of House of the Dragon, whose premiere is approaching fast, but as you may remember, HBO is also working on a prequel series titled Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: The Hedge Knight, which we have already reported about. And while we don’t know when the show is going to air, we have received some new information about the series that will certainly make some of the fans happy.

The Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: The Hedge Knight series will be based on the Tales of Dunk and Egg series, which is a series of novellas written by George R. R. Martin. The series will actually serve as a prequel to the main Game of Thrones series, which means that it will be set in the same narrative universe. The focus of the series will be on the adventures of “Dunk” (the future Lord Commander of the Kingsguard, Ser Duncan the Tall) and “Egg” (the future King Aegon V Targaryen), and it will be set about 90 years before the start of the main series.

As for the most recent updates, we have been informed that the series will have six episodes in total, which is less than the other Game of Thrones series, but seeing how they will probably be hour-long episodes, it is still a solid number that will provide us with a lot of interesting content. It has also been revealed that the new title of the series is simply going to be A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms, meaning that the original title – Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: The Hedge Knight – has been scrapped, although we have to say that even this might not end up being the final title.

Another scoop we have is that Owen Harris, who directed two of Black Mirror‘s finest episodes — “Be Right Back” and the widely acclaimed “San Junipero” — has signed on to direct the first three episodes of the series. The director or directors of the remaining three are unknown as of the time of writing.

As for the remaining cast and crew members, we know that Martin and Ira Parker will serve as writers and executive producers on the show, with Ryan Condal, Vince Gerardis, Owen Harris, and Sarah Bradshaw also executive producing. Also, as we have also reported, the two principal characters of the series have been cast, and we can confirm that Peter Claffey has been cast as Dunk, while Dexter Sol Ansell has been cast as Egg.

We don’t know much about the plot of the series, but we have an official synopsis that reveals the following:

A century before the events of ‘Game of Thrones,’ two unlikely heroes wandered Westeros… a young, naïve but courageous knight, Ser Duncan the Tall (Claffey), and his diminutive squire, Egg (Ansell). Set in an age when the Targaryen line still holds the Iron Throne, and the memory of the last dragon has not yet passed from living memory, great destinies, powerful foes, and dangerous exploits all await these improbable and incomparable friends.

This is all we have for you now, but be sure to keep following us for more updates in the future, as we are going to bring all the updates to you as soon as they arrive.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments