All 8 ‘A Christmas Story’ Movies in Order: Parker Family Saga Chronological Guide

All 8 'A Christmas Story' Movies in Order: Parker Family Saga Chronological Guide

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


Are you ready to take a nostalgic trip with the Parker family? If you’re a fan of ‘A Christmas Story,’ you know it’s not just about the famous leg lamp or a kid’s dream of a Red Ryder BB gun. It’s a saga that’s warmed our hearts over the years. In this guide, we’ll walk through the Parker family movies, putting them in the perfect order to enjoy their full story. So, grab your favorite snack, and let’s dive into this beloved series!

All 8 ‘A Christmas Story’ movies in release date order

There are eight movies in the Parker family saga, each with its own unique charm and nostalgia. Let’s check them out:

  1. The Phantom of the Open Hearth (1976)
  2. The Great American Fourth of July and Other Disasters (1982)
  3. A Christmas Story (1983)
  4. The Star-Crossed Romance of Josephine Cosnowski (1985)
  5. Ollie Hopnoodle’s Haven of Bliss (1988)
  6. My Summer Story (1994) (aka It Runs in the Family)
  7. A Christmas Story 2 (2012)
  8. A Christmas Story Christmas (2022)

Are all ‘A Christmas Story’ Movies Connected? What’s the best way to watch them?

Over the years, there have been other films and adaptations related to “A Christmas Story,” but they are not direct sequels or part of a connected series in the traditional sense.

You don’t need to watch all the Parker Family Saga movies in order. Just focus on the three main films: “A Christmas Story” (1983), “A Christmas Story 2” (2012), and “A Christmas Story Christmas” (2022) for the main story. The other movies are loosely connected and optional.

A Christmas Story movies in chronological order

Explore the Parker family’s journey in chronological order, from the iconic “A Christmas Story” to its direct sequels and related films. This arrangement allows us to follow the timeline of the family’s experiences, witnessing their growth and changes through the years. Each film, while unique in its cast and style, contributes to the unfolding narrative of the Parkers, blending humor, nostalgia, and the essence of family life.

1. ‘A Christmas Story’ (1983)

A Christmas Story 1983

Set as the cornerstone of the saga, “A Christmas Story” is the beginning of Ralphie’s adventures, focusing on his Christmas wish. This film sets the stage for the sequels, introducing the Parker family in their most iconic roles.

2. ‘A Christmas Story 2’ (2012)

A Christmas Story 2 2012

“A Christmas Story 2” directly follows the events of “A Christmas Story,” presenting Ralphie as a teenager. Despite featuring a new cast, it maintains the spirit of the original, continuing Ralphie’s story with a focus on his teenage years and family dynamics.

3. ‘A Christmas Story Christmas (2022)’

A Christmas Story Christmas 2022

“A Christmas Story Christmas” picks up the narrative as the ‘true’ sequel to “A Christmas Story,” bringing back the original cast members. It shows an adult Ralphie reminiscing about his past, bridging his childhood and present-day experiences.

4. ‘The Phantom of the Open Hearth (1976)’

The Phantom of the Open Hearth 1976

“The Phantom of the Open Hearth” is a television movie that, while released earlier, fits into the series after the events of the main films. It introduces some of the same cast members and sets the tone for the family’s dynamic and humor.


The 10 Best 70s Christmas Movies & Why You Should Watch Them

5. ‘The Great American Fourth of July and Other Disasters’ (1982)

5. The Great American Fourth of July and Other Disasters 1982

Following “The Phantom of the Open Hearth,” this film presents a series of vignettes around the Fourth of July. It continues the Parker family’s story with the same blend of humor and heartwarming moments.

6. ‘The Star-Crossed Romance of Josephine Cosnowski’ (1985)

The Star Crossed Romance of Josephine Cosnowski

This film explores the themes of teenage love and family, adding another dimension to the Parker family’s narrative. While it features different cast members, it retains the series’ characteristic charm.

7. ‘Ollie Hopnoodle’s Haven of Bliss’ (1988)

7. Ollie Hopnoodles Haven of Bliss 1988

Continuing the story, “Ollie Hopnoodle’s Haven of Bliss” takes us on a summer vacation with the Parkers. It adds depth to the family’s experiences, showcasing their summer adventures.

8. ‘My Summer Story’ (1994)

My Summer Story 1994

“My Summer Story,” also known as “It Runs in the Family,” is positioned as a direct sequel to “A Christmas Story” in spirit, though it features a new cast. It revisits the Parker family’s summer escapades, providing a humorous look at their life during this season.

Where to watch all above-mentioned movies?

Unfortunately, the majority of the movies in the series cannot be streamed or purchased on streaming services, so you will have to look at Amazon or eBay for physical copies. ‘A Christmas Story’ (1983) can be streamed on Max, Vix, TNT, TBS and TruTV. ‘A Christmas Story 2’ (2012) can be streamed on Max and AMC, and ‘A Christmas Story Christmas’ (2022) can only be streamed on Max and DirecTV.

Will there be more Parker family movies?

So far, it doesn’t look like the Parker Family Saga will get another installment, but who knows? The latest sequel came out in 2022, and so far, there has been no news, but everything is possible in the age of reboots. In any case, we’re going to update you as soon as we have more info.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments