All 5 ‘After’ Movies in Order


The ‘After’ Film series is a set of young adult films based on the book series of the same name written by Anna Todd. The five-book series was a worldwide phenomenon, and in 2014, Paramount Pictures acquired the rights to the franchise. The first movie came out in 2019, and the last one so far came out in 2023. So far, the ‘After’ franchise consists of 5 movies, and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch them in order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023 with the latest installment in the franchise ‘After Everything.’

All 5 ‘After’ movies in release date order

In the ‘After’ series, we follow Tessa and Hardin’s love story. The life of Tessa Young will vastly change now that she has started the next chapter of her life as a college student. Her life is meticulously planned by not only herself but her overbearing mother. But when Tessa meets the mysterious rebel Hardin Scott, everything in her life begins to change. Here are all ‘After’ movies in release date order:

  1. After (2019)
  2. After We Collided (2020)
  3. After We Fell (2021)
  4. ‘After Ever Happy’ (2022)
  5. ‘After Everything’ (2023)

Are all ‘After’ movies connected? What is the best order to watch them in?

All five ‘After’ movies are connected. In the first movie, Tessa and Hardin meet, and by the end of the movie, they break up. In the second movie, ‘After We Collided,’ Tessa and Hardin try to move on after the breakup, but they see there is no point in them being apart. In ‘After We Fell,’ some family drama gets involved in their love story, and now they must decide if their love is worth fighting for. The best way to watch the love story in the ‘After’ franchise is to watch the movies in their release order. Every movie deals with different complicated aspects of Tessa of Hardin’s life, which causes their characters to grow and change with every new installment.

‘After’ movies in chronological order

The franchise has a pretty straightforward timeline and all movies were released in their proper chronological order:

1. ‘After’ (2019)


In the film, ‘After,’ Tessa Young, a dedicated student and loyal girlfriend, experiences a transformative journey when she enters college and encounters Hardin Scott, a mysterious rebel. Hardin’s presence challenges Tessa’s preconceptions about herself and prompts her to reevaluate her desires and aspirations. The story explores themes of self-discovery and the complexities of navigating newfound emotions in a college setting.


All 3 Legally Blonde Movies in Order

2. ‘After We Collided’ (2020)


In the aftermath of their breakup, Hardin Scott and Tessa Young navigate the challenges of their separate paths. While Tessa secures an internship at Vance Publishing and develops a connection with responsible co-worker Trevor, she finds it difficult to move on from Hardin, the love of her life, leading to a compelling struggle as they fight against external forces to be together.

3. ‘After We Fell’ (2021)

After We Fell film poster

In the third installment of the “After” franchise, Tessa embarks on a new chapter, preparing to move to Seattle for her dream job, but faces escalating challenges as Hardin’s jealousy and unpredictable behavior jeopardize their intense relationship. The complications intensify with the return of Tessa’s father and shocking revelations about Hardin’s family. Tessa and Hardin must confront whether their love is worth the fight or if it’s time to part ways.

4. ‘After Ever Happy’ (2022)

After Ever Happy

After learning that Christian Vance is his biological father, Hardin confronts his mother at her wedding reception with Tessa, leading to a heated confrontation. Later, a drunken Hardin unintentionally sets a fire at his mother’s house, prompting Vance to intervene and help him escape. The next day, Tessa and Hardin share a moment of intimacy but face challenges as Hardin’s anger issues resurface, ultimately leading to Tessa returning to the US after finding him drunk and high at a party.

5. ‘After Everything’ (2023)

After everything

A year after his breakup with Tessa, Hardin is still haunted by their love story’s aftermath, struggling to produce a follow-up to his best-selling manuscript “After.” Pressured by his publisher Katherine, he reluctantly goes clubbing but is unable to escape memories of Tessa, leading to excessive drinking. During a lunch with his mother and birth father, Hardin grapples with the consequences of his behavior, citing Tessa as his muse and facing writer’s block, prompting his mother to suggest making peace with the past and mentioning a connection from his youth, Natalie, now residing in Lisbon.

Where to watch the above-mentioned movies?

The first installment in the ‘After’ franchise can be streamed on Netflix. ‘After We Collided,’ ‘After We Fell,’ ‘After Everything,’ and ‘After Ever Happy’ can be streamed on Amazon Prime Video.

Will there be more ‘After’ movies?

There will be more installments in the ‘After’ franchise. The prequel, titled ‘Before,’ will focus on Hardin before meeting Tessa, delving into his trauma and family life. The untitled sequel, inspired by the epilogue from ‘After Ever Happy,’ will center around the next generation of the Scott family, with Emery and Auden Scott as the primary characters, exploring themes of breaking free from the sins of their parents.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments