Disney And Marvel Are Pushing ‘Black Widow’ And ‘Eternals’ To Be Nominated For Oscars In Multiple Categories

FF40B299 77B8 473C 8BCF 791B144F1DCC scaled e1641512384485

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


If you thought only Spider-Man: No Way Home is getting the campaign to be nominated for the most prestigious award in the movie industry, think again. Disney and Marvel Studios have decided to start the campaign for their movies Black Widow and Eternals to be nominated for Oscars in multiple categories.

We already talked about how superhero movies are usually underrepresented when it comes to getting, or event being nominated for, the most prestigious awards. The only Marvel movie that was the exception of that unspoken rule was Black Panther, which was nominated for seven Oscars, including Best Picture, and won three of them. Some other MCU movies usually had to be satisfied only with a nomination for the Best Visual Effects at most. To this day, Black Panther remains the only MCU movie that won the famous golden statue.

But, could that change this year? After Black Panther, will some other Marvel movie be able to say “Hey, I’ve won an Oscar!” Well, Disney and Marvel will do their best to make that a reality. But let’s remember, they tried the same with Avengers: Endgame two years ago, and the movie was only nominated for the Best Visual Effects, and lost in the category against Sam Mendes’ war movie 1917.

After Spider-Man: No Way Home, Disney is officially pushing Black Widow and Eternals in hope that they’re gonna be nominated for the Academy Award. Check the categories that Disney is aiming at with each of these films:


  • Best Picture: Kevin Feige, p.g.a.
  • Best Director: Cate Shortland
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Eric Pearson; Story by Jac Schaeffer and Ned Benson
  • Best Cinematography: Gabriel Beristain, ASC
  • Best Film Editing: Leigh Folsom Boyd, ACE and Matthew Schmidt
  • Best Production Design: Charles Wood and John Bush
  • Best Costume Design: Jany Temime
  • Best Sound: Shannon Mills, Daniel Laurie, Juan Peralta, Lora Hirschberg, Chris Munro, and Nia Hansen
  • Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Paul Gooch and Paula Price
  • Best Visual Effects: Geoffrey Baumann, Dave Hodgins, Craig Hammack, and Paul Corbould
  • Original Score: Lorne Balfe


  • Best Picture: Kevin Feige, p.g.a., Nate Moore, p.g.a.
  • Best Director: Chloé Zhao
  • Best Actress: Gemma Chan
  • Best Actor: Richard Madden
  • Best Supporting Actress: Lia McHugh, Lauren Ridloff, Salma Hayek, Angelina Jolie
  • Best Supporting Actor: Kumail Nanjiani, Brian Tyree Henry, Barry Keoghan, Don Lee, Kit Harrington
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: Chloé Zhao, Patrick Burleigh, Ryan Firpo, Kaz Firpo
  • Best Cinematography: Ben Davis, BSC
  • Best Production Design: Eve Stewart, Set Decorator, Michael Standish
  • Best Sound: Addison Teague, Daniel Laurie, Lora Hirschberg, Juan Peralta, Gareth John
  • Best Film Editing: Craig Wood, ACE, Dylan Tichenor, ACE
  • Best Custume Design: Sammy Sheldon Differ
  • Best Makeup and Hairstyling: Frances Hannon, Karen Cohen
  • Best Visual Effects: Stephane Ceretti, Matt Aitken, Daniele Bigi, Neil Corbould
  • Best Original Score: Ramin Djawadi


Sony Is Officially Going Forward With Oscars Campaign For ‘Spider-Man: No Way Home’

Black Widow was released last summer in theaters and on Disney+ simultaneously, which caused a lawsuit between Scarlett Johansson and the House of Mouse, but the lawsuit was settled a couple of months later. Black Widow grossed $379 million worldwide, although it was recently reported that Disney lost around $600 million in revenue due to piracy. Eternals was released last November exclusively in theaters, and it grossed $401 million. Eternals Chloé Zhao won two Academy Awards last year for her movie Nomadland (Best Achievement in Directing and Best Motion Picture of the Year).

Black Widow is available on Disney+ now, Eternals will be available on the streaming service starting January 12.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments