All 8 Sharknado Movies & Spinoffs in Order

Sharknado Movies in Order and How Many are There?

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


Originally released by Syfy in 2013, Sharknado is a series of American disaster horror comedy science-fiction films. It ended with its sixth film in 2018. In 2015, Sharknado: Heart of Sharkness was released as a spin-off film. The franchise has since been expanded into video games and comic books. 

Except for the first two films, which received mixed to positive reviews from critics, the following films received negative reviews.

How Many Sharknado Movies Are There?

To date, the Sharknado franchise contains six movies and two spin-offs.

Sharknado Watch Order at a Glance

Sharknado Movies in Order and How Many are There?
  • Sharknado (2013)
  • Sharknado 2: The Second One (2014)
  • Sharknado 3: Oh Hell No! (2015) 
  • Lavalantula (Spin-off) (2015)
  • Sharknado: The 4th Awakens (2016)
  • 2 Lava 2 Lantula (Spin-off) (2016)
  • Sharknado 5: Global Swarming (2017)
  • The Last Sharknado: It’s About time (2018)

Sharknado Movies in Order

1. Sharknado (2013)

In the opening story, Fin and April travel to New York City. They aim to promote April’s book, “How to Survive a Sharknado and Other Unnatural Disasters.” 

She wrote the book because of the Sharknado that attacked Los Angeles just a while back.

Soon after they arrive, the city encounters a turbulent storm that results in the emergence of  new “sharknados.”

2. Sharknado 2: The Second One (2014)

Sharknado Movies in Order and How Many are There?

The vogue of the Sharknado dynasty complements the fact that the movie is somewhat dull. Also, the low quality of the series may have made it quite unpopular.

However, when the characters argue in the car for a long time, everything gets tiring and dull. Nevertheless, I enjoyed and appreciated every scene in the entire movie.

3. Sharknado 3: Oh Hell No! (2015) 

The introduction of time travel is actually what shot the entire movie into popularity as people mostly prefer science fiction with a touch of time travel.

4. Lavalantula (Spin-off) (2015)

This is the first spin-off to Sharknado. After a series of volcanic eruptions across Los Angeles, a swarm of gigantic, lava-breathing tarantulas invades the city. 

5. Sharknado: The 4th Awakens (2016)

Sharknado 4 is quite different because it is more of a comic movie than horror. This characteristic makes it more capable of keeping watchers on their toes.

6. 2 Lava 2 Lantula (Spin-off) (2016)

Sharknado Movies in Order and How Many are There?

This is the second spin-off movie of the Sharknado film series. It’s also the direct sequel to Lavalantula. 

Here, Florida’s fate rests on the shoulders of Colton West after it was invaded by fire-breathing, lava-spewing arachnids running havoc across the city.

7. Sharknado 5: Global Swarming (2017)

Here, Fin and April chase down a shark god. However, everything ends with them teleporting to different locations in London, Egypt, Rome, and Tokyo.

8. The Last Sharknado: It’s About Time (2018)

Here, Fin returns to the past to the very first Sharknado. Then, he rejoins his friends to save humanity. 

Even though The Last Sharknado ended somewhat tragically, it’s still one of the best Sharknado movies I have watched. Although I want more from the series as much as you do, the producers may have other intentions. 

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments