All 5 ‘The Hunger Games’ Movies in Order (& How They’re Connected)

All 5 The Hunger Games Movies In Order How Theyre Connected

‘The Hunger Games’ Trilogy of books was an instant hit among young adult audiences, so it doesn’t surprise us that the movie series was equally successful and even launched some new faces into stardom. The franchise set various records, and it’s, to this day, the 21st highest-grossing film franchise of all time and now. Since the release of the first movie, ‘The Hunger Games’ franchise has grown to include five installments in total, and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch them in the correct order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November, 2023 with the release of ‘The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’

All 5 ‘The Hunger Games’ movies in release date order

The first ‘Hunger Games’ movie was released back in 2012, and it was based on the first book; due to the complexity of the material, the third book was split into two parts. But the franchise didn’t stop there as recently, even prequel was released, so let’s see the proper release order.

  1. The Hunger Games (2012)
  2. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
  3. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014)
  4. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015)
  5. ‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’ (2023)

Are all ‘The Hunger Games’ movies connected? What’s the best way to watch them?

All ‘The Hunger Games’ movies are connected and form one cohesive narrative set within the same continuity. The movies follow the story of Katniss Everdeen, portrayed by Jennifer Lawrence, as she becomes a symbol of rebellion against the oppressive Capitol in the dystopian world of Panem. The movies maintain a consistent storyline and character development across all four films.

But it gets complicated with the latest movie in the franchise ‘The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’ as it is basically a prequel to the whole story; therefore, the best way to watch ‘The Hunger Games’ franchise is in chronological order that doesn’t exactly correspond to the release date order.

All ‘The Hunger Games’ movies in chronological order

As we’ve said, the latest installment in the series is a prequel to the franchise, and now the proper chronological watch order looks like this:

  1. ‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’ (2023)
  2. The Hunger Games (2012)
  3. The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)
  4. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014)
  5. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015)

1. ‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’

The Hunger Games The Ballad of Songbirds Snakes

‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes’ is based on a prequel book released in 2020, and the stupid jumped right at the opportunity to adapt it into a movie.


120 Most Iconic Fictional Characters of All Time

In Panem, eighteen-year-old Coriolanus Snow, son of the deceased General Crassus, aims to restore his family’s fortune after the First Rebellion. Selected as a mentor in the 10th Annual Hunger Games, he focuses on making tributes entertaining to increase viewership. Coriolanus mentors Lucy Gray Baird, the District 12 female tribute, who captivates Capitol viewers with her charm and singing. As he forms a bond with Lucy Gray and navigates the challenges of the Hunger Games, including rebel attacks, Coriolanus proposes a sponsorship scheme and faces moral dilemmas in his quest for prosperity.

1. ‘The Hunger Games’

Hunger Games Movies In Order: The Complete Mockingjay Watch Order

Katniss Everdeen volunteers to take her sister Prim’s place in the annual Hunger Games, a televised event where tributes from each district fight to the death. Along with her fellow tribute Peeta Mellark, Katniss enters the Capitol, where they face various challenges and adversaries in the deadly arena. Katniss and Peeta navigate alliances, survival strategies, and the Capitol’s political machinations to stay alive

2. ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’

Hunger Games Movies In Order: The Complete Mockingjay Watch Order

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark embark on a victory tour after winning the previous Hunger Games. However, their defiance sparks unrest in the districts, leading President Snow to devise a plan for the Quarter Quell, where past victors must compete again. Katniss forms alliances with other tributes in the arena, uncovering a broader rebellion against the Capitol.

3. ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1’

Hunger Games Movies In Order: The Complete Mockingjay Watch Order

Katniss Everdeen becomes the symbol of the rebellion against the Capitol, known as the Mockingjay. She collaborates with District 13’s President Alma Coin and other rebels to launch propaganda against President Snow. Katniss struggles with the trauma of the Games and the destruction of her home, Peeta’s capture by the Capitol, and her growing role as a leader.

4. ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’

Hunger Games Movies In Order: The Complete Mockingjay Watch Order

Katniss Everdeen joins the rebellion’s mission to assassinate President Snow and liberate Panem. The team faces treacherous challenges in the Capitol, including deadly traps set by the Capitol itself. Katniss grapples with the moral complexities of war, loss, and her role as the Mockingjay.


15 Top-Selling Sci-fi Franchises of All Time (Ranked)

Where to watch the above-mentioned movies?

The first four movies in ‘The Hunger Games’ franchise can be streamed on Fubo and Peacock and also bought on Apple TV and Amazon. Interestingly, ‘Catching Fire’ and ‘Mockingjay – Part 2’ can also be streamed on Starz. The fifth movie, ‘The Hunger Games: The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes,’ can only be watched in the cinemas currently, but we will update this as soon as the movie finishes its theatrical run.

Will there be more ‘The Hunger Games’ movies?

Currently, there are no plans to make a sixth ‘The Hunger Games’ movie even though Lawrence, Lesslie, and Arndt did state that they would love to explore more stories within the Panem, but ultimately, it’s up to Suzanne Collins to write them.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments