All 4 ‘Power’ Shows in Order (Including Chronological Timeline)

All the TV shows in the Power franchise Collage

Starz’s ‘Power’ Universe has expanded into one of the most-watched crime dramas, with the show’s spinoffs proving more interesting than the primary show. Power, which aired for six seasons between 2014 and 2020, is still the franchise’s most thrilling drama. Omar Hardwick’s character James ‘Ghost’ St. Patrick, set a high standard of what fans expect from the protagonists in the spinoffs, and most of them have lived up to it. Currently, the ‘Power’ Universe spans 4 TV shows across 14 seasons, and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch them in order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023 to include ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 3.

All 4 ‘Power’ Shows & 14 Seasons in Release date order

The first ‘Power’ show was released back in 2014, and for almost ten years, it gave rise to 13 seasons in total across its many spinoffs. Here’s the release date order:

  1. ‘Power’ Season 1 (2014)
  2. ‘Power’ Season 2 (2015)
  3. ‘Power’ Season 3 (2016)
  4. ‘Power’ Season 4 (2017)
  5. ‘Power’ Season 5 (2018)
  6. ‘Power’ Season 6 (2020)
  7. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ Season 1 (2020-2021)
  8. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 1 (2021)
  9. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ Season 2 (2021-2022)
  10. ‘Power Book IV: Force’ Season 1 (2022)
  11. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 2 (2022)
  12. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ Season 3 (2023)
  13. ‘Power Book IV: Force’ Season 2 (2023)
  14. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 3 (2023-2024)

Are all ‘Power’ shows connected? What’s the best was to watch them?

PowerVS Ghost

All ‘Power’ shows are largely independent of each other and can be watched and enjoyed individually. It is still necessary to watch the main show before any of the spinoffs for some details to make sense. All the protagonists of the spinoffs are introduced in the main show, ‘Power,’ whose main protagonist, Ghost, was the connection between the characters.

Although ‘Raising Kanan’ comes before all the other shows chronologically because it is set in the 1990s, it doesn’t give the best wholesome picture of the ‘Power Universe’ when watched first. Kanan is introduced as Ghost’s mentor in the main show, who went to prison as a result of Ghost and Tasha betraying him and handing him over to the police.

So, while ‘Raising Kanan’ introduces Kanan’s roots as a drug dealer, with his positive side taking precedence since he is the protagonist, Power introduces the best version of him alongside Ghost and Tommy as established drug dealers. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ was the very first sequel to Power, picking off right at the end of the main show. In the show, Ghost’s son Tariq St. Patrick goes into business with the Tejada crime family while trying to survive at Stansfield University without his father’s money.


‘Power Book IV: Force’: Is Tariq Coming to Chicago? Here Is What We Know

‘Power Book II: Ghost’ is actually like a modern version of Raising Kanan, showing Tariq going down the same path his father did, just like ‘Raising Kanan’ shows how Kanan ended up as a criminal. ‘Power Book VI: Force’ is the most action-intense sequel of the franchise so far as it follows Tommy into Chicago. The turf wars with the established criminal groups in Chicago make his life much harder than he had to deal with in New York.

There are a few crossovers between ‘Ghost’ and ‘Power,’ mentioning events in New York, but the mentions are offscreen, and ‘Force’ remains independent of both the primary show and the first sequel. With everything said, the best way to watch ‘Power’ shows is in release date order.

All 4 ‘Power’ shows in chronological order

Now we’ve cleared that the best way to watch the power shows is in release date order. However, there is a specific in-universe chronology that can be followed due to some shows serving as prequels. Here’s the chronological order of all ‘Power’ shows.

  1. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 1 – takes place in the 90s, a prequel
  2. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 2
  3. ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan’ Season 3
  4. ‘Power’ Season 1 – main timeline for the Universe
  5. ‘Power’ Season 2
  6. ‘Power’ Season 3
  7. ‘Power’ Season 4
  8. ‘Power’ Season 5
  9. ‘Power’ Season 6
  10. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ season 1 direct sequel to ‘Power’
  11. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ Season 2
  12. ‘Power Book II: Ghost’ Season 3
  13. ‘Power Book IV: Force’ Season 1 – second sequel to ‘Power’
  14. ‘Power Book IV: Force’ Season 2

Where to watch ‘Power’ shows?

All ‘Power’ shows can be streamed on Starz and Lionsgate+, with ‘Power Book III: Raising Kanan,’ Power Book II: Ghost’, and ‘Power Book: IV Force’ also being available on Amazon Prime Video. However, not all seasons of the aforementioned shows are available on Prime Video.

Will there be more ‘Power’ shows?

‘Power Book V: Influence’ was supposed to be another spinoff to the original ‘Power’ show, but the series was canceled in August 2022. So far, there is no news on whether ‘Power Book IV’ or ‘Power Book III’ will receive more seasons.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments