Avengers Movies in Order: The Complete Chronological Order

How Old Are the Avengers in the MCU?

There are a lot of movies in Marvel Cinematic Universe, and we have the whole MCU watch order but what if you only want to watch Avengers movies and don’t want to go through the whole MCU guide? Well, worry not, because in this article we are bringing you all Avengers movies in order.

Hopefully, there will be more Avengers movies in the future, and if that happens (sure it will), we will update this article. Until then, let’s check out how many Avengers movies are there, what is the best way to watch them, do you need to watch them in order and will there be more Avengers movies.

How many Avengers movies are there?

There are currently four Avengers movies. Let us see which are they and when were those four Avengers movies released.

  • The Avengers (2012)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
  • Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
  • Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Now that we know how many Avengers movies are there, let us check what is the best order of watching them and what are they really about.

Avengers movies in order

Watching Avengers movies in order is actually pretty straightforward (if you want to watch only Avengers movies). You should be watching them by their release date. Let us see what are these four magnificent movies about.

RELATED: How Long Would It Take to Watch All of the MCU Movies?

The Avengers (2012)

The Avengers (2012)

Marvel Studios presents The Avengers – a fantastic group of superheroes made up of Iron Man, The Incredible Hulk, Thor, Captain America, Hawkeye and Black Widow. The Avengers is based on the Marvel comic book of the same name, first published in 1963.

When an unexpected hostile threat arises that threatens global security and protection, Nick Fury – head of The Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement, and Logistics Division better known as S.H.I.E.L.D. – will have to put together the only team that will be able to restore balance to the world and save it from disaster. A search for heroes soon begins that will take Nick from one side of the hemisphere to the other.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

Avengers 2: The Reign of Ultron is an epic sequel to the greatest superhero movie at that time. When Tony Stark tries to launch a latent peace program, things go wrong and the most powerful heroes on Earth, Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye, must pass the final test while the fate of the planet hangs in the balance.

When the villain Ultron appears, the Avengers must stop him from realizing his evil plans, and soon uneasy alliances and unexpected actions create an epic and unique global adventure.

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Avengers: Infinity War (2018)

Marvel’s Avengers: Infinity War is an unprecedented film journey created over ten years and encompasses the entire Marvel Cinematic Universe. It brings us the final, deadliest showdown of all time.

The Avengers and their superhero allies must be willing to sacrifice everything to defeat the mighty Thanos before he ends the universe with his destruction.


Kevin Feige Explains Why MCU Projects Have Different Tones From One Another

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Avengers: Endgame it is the direct sequel to Avengers: Infinity War (2018) and the 22nd film in the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU).

After the devastating events in the movie Avengers: Infinity War (2018), the universe is in ruins. With the help of the remaining allies, the Avengers reunite to undo Thanos ’actions and restore order to space.

Bonus Avengers movies

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

Captain America: Civil War (2016)

After another incident involving the Avengers results in major collateral damage, the U.S. government establishes a political body that should oversee and control this team of superheroes. Such a development of the situation will divide the Avengers and make rivals out of old friends.

Steve Rogers still wants to protect humanity without government interference, while Tony Stark is convinced the time has come for change. At the same time, as the Avengers were destroyed by internal conflicts, a new threat loomed over the Earth.

The Russo Brothers bring us a new chapter in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. A year has passed since the conflict with Ultron and the Avengers continue to protect humanity from threats. Unfortunately, their way of working does not suit everyone.

RELATED: Captain America Movies in Order: The Man Out of Time Watch Order

Even though Captain America: Civil War is not officially called Avengers movies, most of the Avengers are in it, and it is huge in scale just like other Avengers movies.

In case you do want to watch it in order with other Avengers movies, you should watch it after Avengers: Age of Ultron and before Avengers: Infinity War.

Do you need to watch Avengers movies in order?

You should watch Avengers movies in order. You should actually watch all Marvel movies in order, even though some can be watched in chronological order. Still, Avengers movies should be watched by release date and, if you want, you can throw in Captain America: Civil War as a bonus movie.

Will there be more Avengers movies?

Currently, there’s been no official mention of the new Avengers movies. We do hope to see some new Avengers team assembled in the future, but still, for now, there are no official words. Most of us think the next Avenger movie in the MCU will be Young Avengers, but even that is not officially confirmed, even though casting in the latest movies and TV shows allude at that.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments