‘Baki’ Manga Reading Order: Including Side Stories and Extras


Baki‘ is a manga series written and illustrated by Keisuke Itagaki. The story follows a wild adolescent martial arts prodigy Baki, who can’t get enough of fighting and violence with a purpose to defeat his father, the strongest fighter in the world. If you are not sure whether to read ‘Baki’ manga, don’t hesitate to jump in, even though it seems complicated at first glance.

So far, ‘Baki’ Manga, with all its spinoffs and side stories, has over 172 volumes and more than 1,442 chapters, with more on the way, considering that some side stories are still ongoing. With everything said, let’s proceed to our ‘Baki’ reading order.

Editor’s Note: This reading order was updated in October 2023 and includes all released material up to this point.

‘Baki’ manga & sides stories in release date order

The ‘Baki’ manga spans numerous chapters and volumes released over different years. One noteworthy aspect is that some side stories and extras may not always connect to the main plot, leading to potential confusion for readers.

The manga’s storyline is quite direct, and its excellence lies in the compelling narrative and the artistry depicting intense and raw combat. Consequently, ‘Baki’ has earned its place as one of the premier shonen martial art manga series.

Here’s a quick guide on when the manga chapters were released for those looking to dive in. Following the order I’ll outline in this article is essential to enhance your reading experience.

  1. Grappler Baki (1991 to 1999)
  2. Grappler Baki Gaiden (1999)
  3. Baki: New Grappler Baki (1999 – 2005)
  4. Baki Tokubetsu-hen Saga (2002)
  5. Hanma Baki ( 2005 – 2012)
  6. Baki Gaiden: Scarface (2005 – 2009)
  7. Hanma Baki 10.5 Gaiden: Pickle (2008)
  8. ‘Baki Gaiden: Kizudzura’ (2011 – ongoing
  9. Baki Gaiden: Kenjin ( 2013 – ongoing)
  10. Baki-dou (2014 – 2018)
  11. ‘Baki Dou’ (2018 – 2023)
  12. Yuuenchi – Baki Gaiden (2018 – ongoing)
  13. Baki Gaiden: Gaia to Sikorsky (2022 – ongoing)
  14. ‘Baki Rahen’ (2023 – ongoing)
  15. ‘Baki Gaiden: Hana no Chiharu’ (2023 – ongoing)

Are all ‘Baki’ manga series connected? What’s the best way to read them?

Not all ‘Baki’ manga series and side stories are connected. Sure, they are all set in the same continuity, and the premise around the martial arts still remains, but some are pretty much, as far as the main plot goes, completely different series.

One distinctive aspect of the ‘Baki’ manga series is that not all chapters and side stories are seamlessly interconnected. While the main storyline follows the journey of Baki Hanma, a martial arts prodigy striving to surpass his father, the strongest fighter in the world, there are instances where side stories and extras may not directly tie into the central plot.

These deviations often explore different facets of the ‘Baki’ universe, offering additional perspectives, character backgrounds, or unique scenarios.


Baki: Main Characters’ Heights, Weights, Ages & Birthdays

‘Baki’ manga chronological reading order

This reading order will primarily focus on the main series and connect the subsequent side stories to it. Please keep in mind that determining the exact chronology of the events is not always easy. So let’s start.

1. ‘Baki the Grappler’ (1991-1999)

Baki the Grappler consists of 42 volumes and has three sagas that should be read in the following order. ‘Grappler Baki Gaiden: Antonio Igari vs. Mount Toba’ side story takes place immediately after Maximum Tournament Saga and this is why it should be read last.

  1. Underground Arena Saga
  2. Childhood Saga
  3. Maximum Tournament Saga
  4. Grappler Baki Gaiden: Antonio Igari vs. Mount Toba – side story

2. ‘Baki’ (1999-2005)

A sequel to the original ‘Baki the Grappler’ series. It consists of 31 volumes encompassing three sagas.

  1. Most Evil Death Row Convicts Saga
  2. Great Chinese Challenge Saga
  3. Godlike Clash of the Kids Saga
  4. Baki Tokubetsu-hen: Saga – Side Story

3. ‘Hanma Baki’ (2005- 2012)

A sequel to ‘Baki’ manga, has 37 volumes encompassing five sagas in total.

  1. Combat Shadow Fighting Saga
  2. Great Prison Battle Saga
  3. Hanma Baki 10.5 Gaiden: Pickle – Side Story
  4. Pickle Wars Saga
  5. Warrior’s Struggle Saga
  6. Strongest Father and Child Quarrel Saga
  7. Baki Gaiden: Scarface – Side Story
  8. Baki Gaiden: Kizudzura – Side Story

4. ‘Baki-Dou’ (2014-2018)

A sequel to ‘Baki: Hanma,’ it has 22 volumes and no discernbile sagas.

5. ‘Baki Dou’ (2018- 2023)

‘Baki Dou’ is the fifth manga series. The series shares its name with the fourth installment but distinguishes itself by representing Baki’s name in katakana instead of kanji (バキ道). Unlike its predecessor, it omits the dash mark in the title, signifying a new narrative path in Baki’s martial arts journey. Like the previous manga series, it has no discernible sagas but has 17 volumes.


Baki: 10 Characters That Can Beat Yuujirou Hanma, Ranked

6. ‘Baki: Rahen’ (2023 – ongoing)

The sixth manga series in the franchise focuses on Jack Hanmna the brother of Baki Hanma. It’s currently ongoing with three released chapters.

7. ‘Baki Gaiden: Kenjin’ (2013 – ongoing)

A spinoff series from the original series that focuses on Doppo’s adventures. It has only 1 volume with five released chapters.

8. ‘Yuuenchi – Baki Gaiden’ (2022 -ongoing)

‘Yuuenchi – Baki Gaiden Manga’ is a spinoff manga series within the Baki franchise. This manga is an adaptation of a novel sharing the same title. The original novel series, “Yuuenchi – Baki Gaiden,” commenced its release in 2018, offering fans an alternate exploration of the Baki universe. It currently has two volumes with 14 chapters.

9. ‘Baki Gaiden: Gaia to Sikorsky’ (2022-ongoing)

Yet another spinoff in the ‘Baki’ franchise. The story follows the relationship between Gaia and Sikorsky. It currently has 1 volume with six released chapters.

10. ‘Baki Gaiden: Hana no Chiharu’ (2023 – ongoing)

Announced spinoff of the ‘Baki’ franchise that follows Chiharu Shiba, it has no released volumes or chapters at the moment.


‘Baki’ Anime Watch Order: Including ‘Baki Hanma’ Season 2!

Will there be more ‘Baki’ series?

The main ‘Baki’ manga has concluded, but several spinoffs are currently ongoing and regularly releasing chapters. If you’re interested in spinoffs, these are currently ongoing: ‘Baki Gaiden: Kizudzura,’ ‘Baki Gaiden: Kenjin,’ ‘Yuuenchi – Baki Gaiden,’ ‘Baki Gaiden: Gaia to Sikorsky,’ ‘Baki Rahen,’ ‘Baki Gaiden: Hana no Chiharu.’

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments