Solo Leveling: Dungeon and Hunter Rank System Explained!

Solo Leveling: Dungeon and Hunter Rank System Explained!

Solo Leveling is a South Korean novel series that has recently seen an anime adaptation. Arguably the most popular manhwa in the world, Solo Leveling is sure to attract a lot of attention, especially because the anime adaptation is truly great. While we’re enjoying the episodes, we have decided to cover some basic elements from the story. In this article, we are going to explain the Class Rank system, which is one of the basic elements of the Solo Leveling lore. You are going to find out what it is, how it functions, and just why it is so important in the series.

  • Article Breakdown:
  • Every phenomenon of the Solo Leveling lore can be classified based on the famous S-E Rank System, which is the Class Rank system of Solo Leveling. It is primarily used by Hunters.
  • As said, the S-E Rank System is primarily used by Hunters to determine their power rank and their ability to take on the strongest of opponents and Beasts in the series. But, alongside that, it is used to rank other elements of the lore, including Gates, Essence Stones, etc.
  • The S-Rank is the highest rank in the system, while the other ranks, in descending order, are A, B, C, D, and E.

The Class Rank System of Solo Leveling explained

As we all know, the world of Solo Leveling is filled with magic, and magical powers present in the series are the basis for the structure of the lore of Solo Leveling. These magical powers are primarily used by Hunters, who use them to close Gates that appear in the real world. Of course, not every magic user in Solo Leveling is equally powerful, and these discrepancies mean that we have to rank these characters based on how powerful they are, and this is there the Class Rank System of Solo Leveling comes in. In this article, we are going to explain everything you need to know about it.

The Class Rank System is also known as the S-E Rank System, and it is the main ranking system in Solo Leveling. It describes the level of Hunter’s powers and abilities, thus ranking them from weakest to strongest. This has a lot of practical implications, of course, as we are about to explain, but first, it allows us to explain how this system is structured, how it works, and what the ranks actually mean. Also, we have to tell you what the ranks actually are.

Well, the S-E Rank System uses alphabetical designations to show how powerful a character is. In descending order, the ranks are S, A, B, C, D, and E. S means Special, while the other letters don’t have any special meaning. This is a system that is not that uncommon in manga and manhwa works, so the author didn’t really come up with something wholly original, but he managed to adapt it so that it works perfectly in the world of Solo Leveling.


Solo Leveling: What Is the Cartenon Temple (Double Dungeon) & What Happened There?

The E-Rank Hunters are the weakest ones, and they are also the most numerous ones. They are considered to be replaceable, so no one really cares that much about them and what happens to them, so they have to look out for themselves. On the other hand, S-Ranks are the rarest ones in the whole series, and they are also the most powerful ones, possessing some truly incredible skills and abilities, as we have seen throughout the series. A rank can be checked and improved over the course of the story, depending on how successful a Hunter is in their missions and training, so one can rise through the ranks from an E-Rank Hunter to an S-Rank Hunter. It takes a lot of effort, but it can be done.

So, how does the Rank System work in everyday life? Well, aside from being a way to become famous in the world of Solo Leveling, the Class Rank system also has a lot of influence on the professional lives of the Hunters. Namely, the higher your rank, the more you will be paid. This is why E-Rank Hunters are generally quite poor and have to find a way to survive the daily struggles. Of course, the more one works and advances through the ranks, the more he will get paid. This is why S-Ranks usually have a lot of money and are rich.

These are the basics of the Class Rank System. We are now going to explain why it is so important for the story of Solo Leveling itself and why it is such a relevant part of the lore.


Solo Leveling: Who Is Eunseok? Meet the Legendary Hunter from Korea!

Why is the Class Rank System so important?

Well, now that we have explained the S-E Rank System to you, we can tell you why we decided to write about it in the first place. Namely, the S-E System is one of the pillars of Solo Leveling, one of the most important elements of the whole lore, as it allows us to compare and clarify some other aspects. The importance of this system lies in the fact that it can be applied to all elements of the lore.

It’s not just the Hunters and their powers; it’s the Gates, the Essence Stones, the Beasts… everything you can think of as far as Solo Leveling is concerned can be ranked according to the S-E Rank System, which explains why this system is so important in the first place. And with this, we can actually end this article. We have explained the system in detail and you now have all the relevant information about the S-E Rank System from Solo Leveling, and you know how and why it is so important for the series.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments