‘The Eminence in Shadow’ Watch Order

eminence in shadow watch order

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


The Eminence in Shadow is a Japanese light novel series written by Daisuke Aizawa and illustrated by Tōzai. It has been published as an online novel since May 2018 on the text publishing site Shōsetsuka ni narō. An anime adaptation of the series produced by the Nexus studio began airing in October, and after a successful first season, the anime was renewed for a second season. So far, as of January 2024, The Eminences in Shadow has two seasons overall with 32 episodes.

Editor’s Note: This post was updated in January 2024. The second season of the show is over.

The Eminence in Shadow watch order by release date

In this section, we are going to bring you an overview of The Eminence in Shadow works in the proper release order:

  1. The Eminence in Shadow, Season 1 (anime, 2022)
  2. The Eminence in Shadow, Season 2 (anime, 2023)

Are all The Eminence in Shadow seasons connected & what is the best way to watch them?

All The Eminence in Shadow seasons are connected and set within the same continuity, and the best way to watch all seasons is in their release date order. Anime follows the story of a young boy named Cid Kagenou, who is a hardcore fan of isekai and fantasy genres. Despite being in the real world, Cid decides to live his life as if he were the protagonist of his own fantasy adventure.

He forms a secret organization called “Shadow Garden” to seek out and defeat imaginary monsters and threats in the shadows, believing that he is the elusive hero in a grand fantasy narrative. However, Cid’s activities attract the attention of a real secret organization, and the line between his fantasy world and reality begins to blur. The anime explores themes of imagination, delusion, and the consequences of living in a fantasy.


Every ‘The Eminence in Shadow’ Character’s Age, Birthday, Height, & Voice Actor

The Eminence in Shadow chronological watch order

The Eminence in Shadow chronological order is exactly the same as the release date order. The anime adapted the light novel/manga chapters chronologically so you can smoothly follow the story as it unfolds. The second season of anime picks up where the first season left off.

Where to watch the series?

The only place where you can currently & regularly watch The Eminence in Shadow is HIDIVE. The series is simulcast with an English sub; you will probably have to wait for a dub for some time after the original release.

Will The Eminence in Shadow be renewed for season 3?

Whether The Eminence in Shadow will return for a third season remains to be seen and will most likely depend on the success of the second season which finished its run recently in December 2023.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments