All 3 ‘The World God Only Knows’ Seasons in Order (Including OVAs)

All 3 The World God Only Knows Seasons in Order Including OVAs

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


‘The World God Only Knows’ is an anime series based on the manga by Tamiki Wakaki. The storyline revolves around Keima Katsuragi, an expert in dating simulation games, who inadvertently accepts a contract with a demoness named Elsie to capture runaway spirits hiding in the hearts of girls, forcing Keima to make the girls fall in love with him to expel the spirits.

‘The World God Only Knows’ is not the most popular anime in the world, but it had a decent following, thanks to which the franchise expanded to include three seasons with 36 episodes, including 5 OVAs. Today, we’re going to tell you how to watch ‘The World God Only Knows’ in the correct order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023.

All 3 ‘The World God Only Knows’ seasons in release date order

The first season of ‘The World God Only Knows’ started airing in October 2010, and the critical consensus regarding the anime has been mostly positive. The series has been praised for its unique premise, humor, and character development. Viewers appreciate the clever integration of dating sim elements into the storyline and Keima’s unconventional approach to relationships. The animation quality and the portrayal of various characters also received positive feedback. Following a successful season, the anime got two more seasons, and this is their release date order:

  1. ‘Flag.0’ – OVA (2010)
  2. ‘The World God Only Knows’ Season 1 (2010)
  3. ‘The World God Only Knows II’ Season 2 (2011)
  4. ‘4 Girls and an Idol’ – OVA (2011)
  5. ‘Reunion’ – OVA (2012)
  6. ‘Chance Meeting’ – OVA (2012)
  7. ‘Magical Star Kanon 100%’ (2013)
  8. ‘The World God Only Knows: Goddesses’ Season 3 (2013)

Are all ‘The World God Only Knows’ seasons & OVAs connected? What’s the best order to watch them in?

All seasons and OVAs of ‘The World God Only Knows’ are connected. The series follows a continuous storyline, and each season builds upon the events of the previous ones. The OVAs also contribute to the overall narrative, providing additional insights and developments in the characters’ relationships. To fully understand the story and character progression, it’s recommended to watch the seasons and OVAs in chronological order.


20 Iconic Anime Goddesses You Need to Worship (Ranked)

‘The World God Only Knows’ anime in chronological order

The proper chronological order of ‘The World God Only Knows’ anime roughly follows the release date order as the timeline really isn’t that complicated.

1. ‘Flag.0’ – OVA (2010)

The OVA released with Volume 10 of ‘The World God Only Knows’ manga serves as a preview. Hosted by Hiro Shimono (Keima) and Kanae Itō (Elsie), the hosts discuss the series, the anime, and their respective characters. The OVA also features a short animated prologue introducing Elsie and her role as a spirit hunter.

2. ‘The World God Only Knows’ Season 1 (2010)

The World God Only Knows Season 1 2010

The series centers on Keima Katsuragi, an adept but introverted teenager known online as “The God of Conquest” for his success in Bishōjo games. Despite his online persona, Keima dislikes real-life girls and is labeled “Otamegane.” However, his life takes an unexpected turn when he unwittingly accepts a contract from the demoness Elsie to capture runaway spirits from Hell hidden in girls’ hearts, compelling him to make them fall in love with him to expel the spirits. Faced with the threat of death for both, Keima, armed with his gaming expertise and Elsie’s magical powers, embarks on an unconventional quest.

3. ‘The World God Only Knows II’ Season 2 (2011)

The World God Only Knows II Season 2 2011

After a brief recap of the first season, Keima Katsuragi theorizes to Elsie about why spirits are attracted to the girls he helped before. During an altercation with delinquents, they encounter Kusunoki Kasuga, the karate club captain, who intervenes and later reveals a spirit inside her. Keima proposes to be Kusunoki’s apprentice, aiming to understand her softer side, leading to an awkward agreement to go on a date to draw out her more feminine aspects.

4. ‘4 Girls and an Idol’ – OVA (2011)

Chihiro, along with her friends Elsie, Ayumi, and Miyako, forms a rock band, but their music needs improvement. When they decide to create a light music club, Mr. Kodama challenges them to score 100% on their English tests to secure a club room. With Elsie convincing Keima to help teach them, despite his reluctance, the girls manage to excel in their tests, securing the formation of their club, “The 2-B Pencils,” and gearing up for the school fall dance festival.

5. ‘Reunion’ – OVA (2012)

During summer vacation, Keima’s gaming plans are interrupted when he encounters Tenri, a childhood friend from ten years ago who he doesn’t remember. Despite initially being disinterested in capturing her heart, Keima and Elsie witness Tenri’s different personality at the mall, prompting Keima to reluctantly embark on the quest to capture her heart. As the Tenri Arc unfolds, Keima discovers that Tenri has a dual personality, Diana, and starts to recall his past with her.

6. ‘Chance Meeting‘ – OVA (2012)

In the second part of the Tenri Arc, Keima recalls an incident from ten years ago during a field trip with Tenri at the beach. In a tunnel under a stranded ship, he and Tenri encountered Weiss, evil spirits, and discovered the connection between Tenri, Diana, and the spirits. To divert Nora’s attention, they successfully fool her into thinking a weak spirit captured by Elsie is Tenri’s, ensuring their safety.

7. ‘Magical Star Kanon 100%’ (2013)

In this episode, Elsie heads for an audition at the TV station, aiming to play Kanon’s little sister on the show. However, a spirit turns Kanon into a child, and Elsie discovers the impostor spirit using the audition to find a new host. With Kanon’s positive energy and determination, she transforms into a real magical girl, ultimately defeating the spirit and returning to normal.

8. ‘The World God Only Knows: Goddesses’ Season 3 (2013)

Goddesses Season 3 2013

Keima reflects on his conquests and encounters Kanon, who begins talking to her split personality, Apollo, claiming to be a goddess. Meanwhile, Diana, another goddess, urges Keima to help find her sisters residing in his past conquests, revealing their connection to the Weiss and the impending threat from Lune of Vintage.

Where to watch the above-mentioned seasons?

All three seasons of ‘The World God Only Knows’ can be streamed on Crunchyroll. Some of the OVAs are available as well, but you can also watch them on YouTube or buy the OVA collection on Amazon.


20 Best Romance Anime on Crunchyroll in 2023

Will there be more seasons of ‘The World God Only Knows?

It’s very unlikely that ‘The World God Only Knows’ will release more seasons. The studio has been closed for quite some time now, and it’s been a long time since the third season aired. In any case, we will update you as soon as we have more info.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments