‘Tokyo Ghoul’ Chronological Watch Order (Including OVAs)

Tokyo Ghoul watch order

Sui Ishida’s two-part manga, Tokyo Ghoul, has been adapted into a popular anime series. Although the series wasn’t consistently praised, it is considered among the better modern-day anime series, especially in the seinen category. The story of Tokyo Ghoul was split into two parts – Tokyo Ghoul and Tokyo Ghoul:re – with the anime adapting half of the first part (Ishida reworked the second part into Tokyo Ghoul √A) and the second part (although with a lot of left-out segments). In this article, we will show you the complete guide to watching Tokyo Ghoul and why this should be discussed in full detail.

Editor’s Note: This post is regularly updated to include the most recent episodes and reflect all changes made to the official watch order.

How many Tokyo Ghoul seasons and episodes are there?

As of the time of writing this article, Tokyo Ghoul is finished. Both the manga and the anime have reached their end, and the series is now officially over, seeing how the anime has adapted the whole manga (although some scenes and details were left out of the adaptation). So, having said all of this, we can confirm that there are a total of four seasons of the series, with Tokyo Ghoul and Tokyo Ghoul √A being individual seasons, whereas Tokyo Ghoul:re was split into two parts.

The first three seasons had a total of 12 episodes each, while the final one had a total of 13 episodes. This means that there are 49 episodes of the main anime series in total. But that is not all, as we also have two OVAs, Jack and Pinto, that are individual episodes as well, which brings the total to 51 episodes.

So, the series has a total of 51 episodes, with 49 of them being spread through four seasons of the anime series, and two being individual OVA episodes that are part of the canon.


Is ‘Tokyo Ghoul’ Scary? Can Kids Watch It?

Tokyo Ghoul watch order by release date

In this section, we are going to bring you an overview of Tokyo Ghoul works in the proper release order:

  1. Tokyo Ghoul (anime, 2014)
  2. Tokyo Ghoul √A (anime, 2015)
  3. Tokyo Ghoul [JACK] (OVA, 2015)
  4. Tokyo Ghoul [PINTO] (OVA, 2015)
  5. Tokyo Ghoul:re, Season 1 (anime, 2018)
  6. Tokyo Ghoul:re, Season 2 (anime, 2018)

In what order should you watch Tokyo Ghoul?

In general, it can be said that the anime continuity of Tokyo Ghoul is easy to follow. Generally speaking, the anime follows a linear narrative pattern, and if you want to start the series, simply commence with Episode 1 and watch it until the end of Tokyo Ghoul:re, which will bring you the whole series in proper order. As far as the anime is concerned, there is no other way to watch it.

Still, we also have the two OVA episodes, which were released after the anime series’ second season. As far as the chronology is concerned, both are set before the first season, so if you want to watch the whole series, you’ll also have to watch the OVAs. Ideally, they should be seen before the first season, but since you won’t have a clue about the characters in the OVAs in that case, we advise you to watch them after the first and before the second season.

Where to watch Tokyo Ghoul episodes?

If you want to watch the Tokyo Ghoul anime, we must tell you there will be some trouble there. As for the main anime series, it is available for streaming on Funimation, Hulu, and Netflix, depending on where you are in the world; these streaming services currently hold the distribution rights to the anime series. But, while this seems easy enough, the two OVA episodes aren’t currently available for streaming (legally), so you’ll probably have to either buy the episodes individually or find a legal source where they are available for watching. And that is how the series can be streamed.


Tokyo Ghoul Weapons: Top 15 Kagune Ranked by Strength

Will there be more Tokyo Ghoul episodes?

As of the time of writing, the Tokyo Ghoul anime series, as well as the manga, is over. With the whole manga being adapted, there is no more space for any new content, which means that there won’t be any additional Tokyo Ghoul episodes in the future. The only way how the series could return is via a reboot, but there is no information about that and it seems unlikely that a reboot would be marketed so soon after the original.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments