All 11 Movies Featuring Wolverine in Order (Including Chronological Order)

Wolverine movies in order

No matter how many mutants Marvel introduces, Wolverine remains one of the most popular ones, and this is why he is most often featured in movies dealing with mutants. Since the creation of the character, Wolverine has been featured in 3 standalone movies and eight movies featuring other mutants, most famously in Fox’s ‘X-Men’ franchise, and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch them in order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023 with the latest news regarding ‘Deadpool 3.’

All 11 movies featuring Wolverine in release date order

Live-action Wolverine was first featured in ‘X-Men’ released in 2000. The movie was an instant hit and helped several prominent characters to achieve near-instant worldwide fame. The last movie so far, featuring Wolverine was released in 2017, and apparently, Hugh Jackman was supposed to retire from the role, but this didn’t prove to be permanent. Let’s see all projects featuring Wolverine in release date order:

  1. ‘X-Men’ (2000)
  2. ‘X2: X-Men United’ (2003)
  3. ‘X-Men: The Last Stand’ (2006)
  4. ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine’ (2009)
  5. ‘X-Men: First Class’ (2011)
  6. ‘The Wolverine’ (2013)
  7. ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’ (2014)
  8. ‘X-Men: Apocalypse’ (2016)
  9. ‘Logan (2017)’
  10. ‘X-Men: Dark Phoenix’ (2019)
  11. ‘The New Mutants’ (2020)

Are all movies featuring Wolverine connected? What’s the best way to watch them?

Most of the movies featuring Wolverine are connected to the ‘X-Men’ film series. Hugh Jackman portrays Wolverine in multiple ‘X-Men’ films, creating a consistent portrayal of the character across these movies. However, it’s worth noting that there are alternate timelines and spin-off films that may not strictly follow a linear narrative, leading to some inconsistencies within the broader X-Men movie universe.

If you’re new to Wolverine’s live-action portrayals, it’s probably best to watch the movies in release date order. However, if you’re already familiar with the premise, there is a specific chronological order that you should be following.


15 Best Wolverine Comics of All Time (Ranked)

All movies featuring Wolverine in chronological order

Now, as we’ve already mentioned, the general X-Men timeline is not easy to follow, and it’s not always consistent. If you don’t have time to read the details regarding the chronological order, here’s the shortlist:

  1. ‘X-Men: First Class’ (2011)
  2. ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’ (2014)
  3. ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine’ (2009)
  4. ‘X-Men: Apocalypse’ (2016)
  5. ‘X-Men’ (2000)
  6. ‘X2: X-Men United’ (2003)
  7. ‘X-Men: The Last Stand’ (2006)
  8. ‘The Wolverine’ (2013)
  9. ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’ (2014)
  10. ‘X-Men: Apocalypse’ (2016)
  11. ‘Logan’ (2017)

The ‘X-Men’ films present two timelines, with Wolverine’s time-travel altering the continuity in ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past.’ Movies released before 2014 are set in the original timeline, while those afterward exist in the new timeline. To follow Wolverine’s story chronologically, start with the original timeline (‘X-Men: First Class,’ ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine,” X-Men, X2: X-Men United,’ ‘X-Men: The Last Stand,’ ‘The Wolverine’), then witness his journey to the past in ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past,’ leading to the altered timeline (‘X-Men: Apocalypse,” Logan’). Additionally, the ‘Wolverine’ trilogy explores different periods in his life, with ‘X-Men Origins: Wolverine’ focusing on his early days, ‘The Wolverine’ in contemporary times, and ‘Logan’ in 2029, concluding with his death.

Where to watch all above-mentioned movies?

All movies featuring Wolverine can be streamed on Disney+. If you’re not up for buying one more subscription, you can also buy the movies outright on Amazon, Apple TV store, Microsoft Store, and YouTube.

Will there be more movies featuring Wolverine?

There will be more movies featuring Wolverine, and not only that, Wolverine is set to join the MCU along with Deadpool in the upcoming ‘Deadpool 3.’ Hugh Jackman is set to return from his “retirement” as Wolverine and reprise his role once again alongside Deadpool. It’s been stated that ‘Deadpool 3’ won’t touch Wolverine’s original timeline in which he is currently dead.

It will be a movie focused on the Multiverse with plenty of X-Men villains returning to their roles and reportedly several variants of Wolverine and Deadpool making an appearance in the movie. The movie is scheduled to be released on July 26, 2024.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments