Liane Moriarty Books in Order & How Many Are There?

Liane Moriarty Books in Order

Liane Moriarty is a famous best-selling Australian author of numerous interesting novels often dealing with family issues and broken relationships. She was born in 1966 in Sydney and the setting of her books is mostly in this versatile and beautiful town. She is also a children’s books writer, popular for her The Space Brigade series. 

How Many Liane Moriarty Books Are There?

Liane Moriarty has written nine novels and three children’s books belonging to The Space Brigade (Nicola Berry) series. 

Liane Moriarty Books in Order (At a Glance)

  1. Three Wishes (2003)
  2. The Last Anniversary (2006)
  3. What Alice Forgot (2009)
  4. The Hypnotist’s Love Story (2011)
  5. The Husband’s Secret (2013)
  6. Big Little Lies (2014)
  7. Truly Madly Guilty (2016)
  8. Nine Perfect Strangers (2018)
  9. Apples Never Fall (2021)

The Space Brigade (Nicola Berry) Series

  1. The Petrifying Problem with Princess Petronella (2007)
  2. The Shocking Trouble on the Planet of Shobble (2009)
  3. The Wicked War on the Planet of Whimsy (2009)

Liane Moriarty Books in Order (By Release Date)

Three Wishes (2003)

This is a witty and interesting portrayal of the life of three beautiful 33-year-old triplets, Lyn, Cat and Gemma Kettle who are an attraction wherever they go, being the centre of attention due to their looks and behaviour.

But privately, they all have their own demons to fight and are dealing with things much more serious than anyone would assume. From news about their parents to adultery and fear of staying and giving your trust to another person, this is a story that many people can relate to.

The Last Anniversary (2006)

Sophie Honeywell used to have it all, including Thomas Gordon, a  wonderful man whose heart she broke on the day he wanted to propose. After a year of being apart, Thomas is already married and she is single from the day they broke up and suddenly, their paths cross.

Sophie has inherited his aunt’s house and has now found herself on a mysterious island, surrounded by the members of an unconventional family where everyone is having a secret of their own.

The Petrifying Problem with Princess Petronella (2007)

This is the first part of the lovely outer space adventure for children where we meet Nicola Berry whose life completely changes the day a man from another planet lands on Earth on an interesting mission.

RELATED: Sophie Lark Books Reading Order: The Complete 2022 Guide

He has to find somebody to travel with him back home and convince their princess to change her mind regarding turning Earth into her garbage dump. Nicola is the chosen one and now she needs to be brave and responsible along with her friends, in order to save her planet.

What Alice Forgot (2009)

Alice is very satisfied with her life, being 29, in love with a beautiful man and pregnant with their first child. But what will happen when she wakes up one day and realises she is now 10 years older, facing a divorce and soon to be a single mother of three?

After a fall in her gym, she has lost ten years of her life and now she needs to remember them and figure out what has happened and why, among all those things, she became one of those skinny mothers with expensive clothes and why she is not talking to her sister anymore.

The Shocking Trouble on the Planet of Shobble (2009)

After a successful mission against Princess Petronella, The Space Brigade receives a letter from the plant of Shobble who is in need of their aid. When they accept and land on their planet, they discover this is a sad planet whose population works endlessly but finally decides to rebel. 

The Space Brigade is asked to end the rebellion and soon they will find themselves on an incredible journey and adventure they will never forget.

The Wicked War on the Planet of Whimsy (2009)

The space Brigade’s third adventure takes them to two completely different planets. One is covered in volcanoes and the other is a beautiful place full of inspired poets. 

Nicola Berry and her crew soon find themselves in the middle of a war between these two planets and have to find a solution and way to make peace before it is too late.

The Hypnotist’s Love Story (2011)

Ellen O’Farrell is a successful psychotherapist who works in the beautiful beach house she inherited from her grandparents. She has a fulfilled life but is still dealing with some past relationship issues. 

She soon falls in love with Patrick, a wonderful man who will share his secret with her, one that will make her life more interesting at the beginning, but it will soon change its course.

The Husband’s Secret (2013)

Cecilia is a successful businesswoman, a devoted mother and wife and one of the most beloved person in her community. Her life is about to drastically change when she opens a letter her husband wrote, one to be read after his death.

Her husband’s secret includes not only Cecilia but two other women, Rachel and Tess, who barely know Cecelia or each other but will soon feel all the repercussions of her husband’s secret.

Big Little Lies (2014)

Moriarty’s most famous and beloved novel is this serious and heartbreaking story about three women whose lives become intertwined, testing them and their friendship in the most unbelievable ways.

Madeline, Celeste and Jane will have to deal with so much more than they thought at the beginning of the new school year. This novel has been adapted into an extremely successful TV series with Reese Witherspoon, Nicole Kidman and Shailene Woodley as these three remarkable women.

Truly Madly Guilty (2016)

This is an interesting outtake on marriage, friendship, parenthood and sex. It is a story of six adults, their three children and a weekend that will turn out to be much more than they expected.

RELATED: Kristin Hannah Books in Order: The Complete 2022 Guide

They will be faced with their feelings, and secrets and forced to question their relationships and themselves in general.

Nine Perfect Strangers (2018)

Nine people find themselves in a remote health resort, all with different reasons and wishes. They are prepared for these unusual ten days in front of them, but fully unprepared for its true purpose.

There is so much more hidden behind the perfect facade of the resort and its employers but before everyone realises what might happen to them, it could be too late. This novel has been made into a TV series, with a stellar cast, including Nicole Kidman, Melisa McCarthy, Michael Shannon and many more.

Apples Never Fall (2021)

What would you do if your mother went missing and the most obvious is your father? Four Delaney siblings, the pillars of the community and some of the most respectable people wherever they find themselves are faced with this question after the disappearance of their mother.

It will turn out that their father has many secrets, some of which are better to stay hidden. Two of the Delaney children trust him but two wouldn’t be so sure he is telling the truth when claiming to be innocent.

  • Tamara is a big movie, music and book fan since always and writes a blog about all these things. Loves psychological thrillers, noir movies and mysteries of all kind. Enjoys discussing and talking about movies and tv series.