Narcos Watch Order: The Complete Guide Including Narcos Mexico

Narcos Watch Order The Complete Guide Including Narcos Mexico

One of the best crime series of all time has come to its end (at least for now). It has gone through some difficulties with production and some, well strange types of seasons. So we have a few seasons of Narcos first, then there is also Narcos: Mexico. With all those seasons, you have to ask yourself are those two different series connected, and what is the right Narcos watch order.

This is what we will answer in this article. We will let you know how many seasons and episodes are there, what are those different series about, how are they connected, do you need to watch them in order and can we expect to see more of Netflix’s amazing Narcos episodes.

How Many Narcos Series, Seasons and Episodes Are There?

There are two separate Narcos series. They both have three seasons and 30 episodes each. Let’s see how it looks like and their release dates:

  • Narcos (2015–2017) – 3 seasons, 30 episodes
  • Narcos: Mexico (2018–2021) – 3 seasons, 30 episodes

Now we will show you the chronological order of these two Narcos series.

Best Narcos Watch Order

The best Narcos watch order is to watch the series in order by release date. The chronological order of Narcos would be more complicated to watch and you probably wouldn’t even know some of the key players that way.

So, you should first watch the original Narcos, three seasons, and after that, you can continue with Narcos: Mexico. Let us see what are they about and how they connect.

There are a lot of spoilers for both Narcos series, so be warned.

Narcos (2015–2017)

There are three seasons of the original Narcos TV show with 10 episodes per season. The first two are focused on the most infamous drug lord in history, Pablo Escobar, while the third season is focused on Cali Cartel.

Season 1

This season follows the life of Pablo Escobar from the mid-1970s to July 1992, when he first started manufacturing cocaine. The show is narrated from the perspective of Steve Murphy, an American DEA agent working in Colombia. It describes how Escobar became involved in the Colombian cocaine trade for the first time.

Due to the rise of cocaine in the American market, which accounts for a major flow of U.S. dollars to Colombia, as well as the rise of drug-related violence in the country, the DEA sent a task force from the United States to Colombia.

Season 2

The second season continues where the first ended. Initially, little changes occur for Escobar, as his cartel remains loyal to him. Escobar loses this loyalty as he needs more time and resources to hide from the CIA and government.

In the beginning, Escobar easily adapts to his new life, giving money to the community while ruthlessly killing those who try to rebel against him. Colombia is experiencing high tension and unrest as a result of massive battles between Colombian police and Escobar. In addition to estranged members of Escobar’s cartel, rivals from the Cali cartel seek to form an unlikely alliance with an anti-communist paramilitary group backed by the CIA.

Following the capture and betrayal of two of Escobar’s top cartel members, he goes on the run. He is cornered on the rooftops of the building by the military and DEA when he attempts to contact his family. Pablo is hit twice during the ensuing shootout, and although he might have survived, a Colombian policeman executes him.

Season 3

The story continues after Pablo Escobar’s death, showing the DEA’s war against the Cali cartel. Escobar’s exit has paved the way for the cartel to expand into new markets in the United States and abroad. In a shock announcement, Gilberto Rodríguez Orejuela, the leader of the Cali cartel, announces that, within six months, the cartel will cease operations in the cocaine business exclusively to focus on legal interests. The cartel has mixed feelings about the decision.

Narcos: Mexico

Narcos moves from Columbia to Mexico, from drug manufacturers to traders. The series focuses on the very beginnings of the Mexican drug war when traffickers were relatively unorganized groups of small, independent marijuana growers and dealers. During the series, they become something much more than that.

Season 1

Narcos Mexico

The first seasons mostly focus on the creation and rise of the Guadalajara Cartel in the 1980s as Miguel Ángel Félix Gallardo (Diego Luna) unifies several plazas, or territories, in order to build an infamous drug empire.

DEA sends agent Kiki Camarena (Michael Peña) to do whatever it takes to stop Félix’s rise to power.

This season actually starts at the same time as the original Narcos series and their timelines begin to run concurrently.

Season 2

In addition to dealing with the U.S. and the consequences of his actions against the DEA, Félix must also deal with discontent within his organization.

In the end, we see his final fall and a new disorder within Mexican drug traffickers.

Season 2 has slowed the timeline a lot, so it doesn’t follow the original Narcos anymore, which went further in the timeline.

Season 3

After Miguel Angel Félix Gallardo’s plaza system is shattered, the third season will focus on the Sinaloa, Tijuana, and Juárez cartels, which are now independent and engaged in a power struggle. These episodes take place in the 1990s, during a time of globalization for the drug business.

Its timeline is approximately at the same time as the original Narcos seasons 2 and 3. In this season we have seen Pablo’s final fall and the rise of the Cali cartel, even its announcement that they will go into the legitimate business.

Do You Need to Watch Narcos in Order?

You should watch Narcos in order by release date. You could try to watch Narcos chronologically, but it would be pretty hard and also, you would miss getting to know some key figures like Pablo Escobar and Cali cartel members.

Will There Be More Narcos Series?

There won’t be Narcos: Mexico season 4, or season 4 of the original Narcos series. Still, even though there is nothing official yet, with the popularity of the series, we believe there will be more series, just this time probably in different countries with its drug dealings.

  • Hrvoje Milakovic

    Hrvoje, based in Osijek, Croatia, with a Master's degree from the Zagreb University of Applied Sciences, is a co-founder of Incomera, a media company that has launched several entertainment sites including Fiction Horizon, Game Horizon, and Anime Horizon. He is also a co-owner of...