All 5 Ocean’s Movies in Order – The Complete Heist Guide

oceans movies in order

Why trust us? Check out Fiction Horizon’s Editorial Policy.


When it comes to heist films that deliver slick schemes, stylish characters, and pulse-pounding suspense, the Ocean’s movies stand out as a cinematic tour de force. This series began with the Rat Pack’s classic in 1960 and was revamped in the early 2000s with a star-studded cast. It has since captivated audiences worldwide with its intricate plots and charismatic criminals. Currently, Ocean’s franchise consists of 5 movies with more on the way and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch them in order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023 to include news related to the franchise prequel that is currently in production.

All 5 Ocean’s movies in release date order

As we’ve mentioned before, the franchise technically started back in the ’60s,’ but it kind of cooled down a bit before it was revived 40 years later with an all-new cast. It was an instant heart-pounding hit and, since then, spawned four additional sequels that were released in the following order:

  1. Ocean’s 11 (1960)
  2. Ocean’s Eleven (2001)
  3. Ocean’s Twelve (2004)
  4. Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)
  5. Ocean’s 8 (2018)

Are all Ocean’s movies connected? What’s the best way to watch them?

The first Ocean’s 11 movie released in 1960 is definitely not connected to the subsequent movies because the franchise was only inspired by that first movie, so I guess you could say that it’s outside of the main continuity. Ocean’s Eleven, Ocean’s Twelve, and Ocean’s Thirteen are directly connected and serve as sequels building up on the events that took place during the 2001 movies.

As far as Ocean’s 8 goes, that movie is actually a spinoff of the main trilogy and has a different cast in the main role. Due to all of this, the best course of action is to watch Ocean’s movie in release date order since it coincides with the chronology of the events.


60 Best Action Comedy Movies of All Time

All Ocean’s movies in chronological order

The chronology of the Ocean’s franchise is fairly simple with the exception of the first movie. Since it’s not really connected to the rest of the franchise directly, you can watch it either first or last. The rest of the franchise can be watched in release date order.

1. Ocean’s 11 (1960)

Oceans 11 1960

World War II veterans Danny Ocean and Jimmy Foster recruit their 82nd Airborne Division comrades to execute a meticulously planned New Year’s Eve heist on five Las Vegas casinos. With military precision, they secure jobs within the casinos, strategically plant demolition charges, and successfully execute the robbery during the blackout caused by the destruction of a power transmission tower.

2. Ocean’s Eleven (2001)

Oceans Eleven 2001

After violating his parole, Danny Ocean teams up with Rusty Ryan to propose a heist to their wealthy friend Reuben Tishkoff, in Las Vegas. The plan involves simultaneously robbing three casinos owned by Terry Benedict, with Reuben reluctantly agreeing to finance the operation as a means of getting back at his rival.

3. Ocean’s Twelve (2004)

Oceans Twelve

Terry Benedict demands Danny Ocean’s crew to return $160 million plus $38 million in interest within two weeks. Unable to meet the deadline, the group plans a heist in Amsterdam based on a tip about the location of the first stock certificate, only to discover it has already been stolen by the master thief “Night Fox.” Europol detective Isabel Lahiri, who has a history with Rusty, warns them of the formidable thieves and reveals her pursuit of the Night Fox and his mentor, “LeMarc.”

4. Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)

Oceans Thirteen 2007

Reuben Tishkoff’s hotel-casino on the Las Vegas Strip is taken over by casino mogul Willy Bank, leading to Reuben’s heart attack and bedridden state. In retaliation, Danny Ocean and his crew plan to ruin Bank on the opening night of the hotel to avenge their friend.

5. Ocean’s 8 (2018)

Oceans 8

Newly paroled con artist Debbie Ocean recruits her partner Lou and a team of specialists, including a fashion designer, jewelry maker, hacker, street hustler, and profiteer, to steal a $150 million Cartier necklace, the Toussaint, during the Met Gala. The team manipulates the gala’s host, Daphne Kluger, into unwittingly aiding their plan while simultaneously creating a replica of the necklace to execute the heist.

Where to watch the above-mentioned movies?

The first and the last movies in the franchise (Ocean’s 11 (1960) and Ocean’s 8 (2018) can only be rented or bought on Apple TV store, Google Play or YouTube. The rest of the Ocean’s franchise can be streamed on AMC+.


15 Best Thriller Movies Like ‘The Killer’ You Need To Watch

Will there be more Ocean’s movies?

There will be more Ocean’s movies. In May 2022, it was revealed that a prequel film set in 1960s Europe, connected to the original Ocean’s franchise, was in development, with Margot Robbie starring and producing. Directed by Jay Roach and written by Carrie Solomon, the film is a joint-venture production between Warner Bros. Pictures, LuckyChap Entertainment, and Village Roadshow, with a tentative production start date in spring 2023. Ryan Gosling entered negotiations in August to co-star, leading to a shift in principal photography to commence in late June 2023.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments