Code Geass (Franchise)

Code Geass is a Japanese anime series created by Gorō Taniguchi and Ichirō Ōkouchi. The series debuted in 2006 and spawned several seasons as well as movies. The show’s premise is set in an alternative timeline. In this alternative timeline, world is split into three major powers, similar to George Orwell’s 1984. These include the Holy Britannian Empire in the Americas, the Chinese Federation in Asia, and the Europa United in Europe and Africa. The story takes place after the Holy Britannian Empire conquered Japan using their latest weapon, the “Autonomous Armored Knight”, or “Knightmare Frame”. As a result, Japan and its citizens were stripped of their rights and freedoms and the country was renamed Area 11 with its citizens referred to as “Elevens”.