All 3 ‘The Librarian’ Movies in Order (Including a TV Show)

the librarian movies in order

Nobody ever expects librarians to be the main characters in action adventure movies, but this is exactly what happened in ‘The Librarian: Quest for the Spear’ released in 2004. The franchise introduced a unique and imaginative concept of a librarian who becomes an adventurer, guardian of mystical artifacts, and a defender against supernatural threats, and it worked. The movie was a success; as far as cheesy flicks can be, it paid itself off, which warranted two more sequels, in other words, the entire franchise was born. Today ‘The Librarian’ franchise consists of 3 movies and a single TV show, with more on the way, and today, we’re going to tell you how to watch the movies and a TV show in order.

Editor’s Note: This watch order was updated in November 2023 and reflects the most up to date state of the franchise.

All 3 ‘The Librarian’ movies & show in release date order

The franchise started in 2004 with the release of ‘Quest for the Spear,’ and in the next four years, two additional movies were released. In 2014, the franchise was revived with ‘The Librarians’ TV show. Let’s see the release order of all installments:

  1. ‘The Librarian: Quest for the Spear’ (2004)
  2. ‘The Librarian: Return to King Solomon’s Mines’ (2006)
  3. ‘The Librarian: Curse of the Judas Chalice’ (2008)
  4. ‘The Librarians’ (2014-2018) 4 Seasons

Are all ‘The Librarian’ movies & show connected? What’s the best order to watch them?

All ‘The Librarian’ movies are connected with the TV show, and they are set within the same continuity. The franchise follows the character Flynn Carsen as he mainly overcomes challenges as the mythical librarian, and sequels follow a straightforward narrative.

However, the TV show did break the canon a bit when a team of Librarians was introduced, although it was previously established that only one Librarian can exist at a time, but that was explained within the show, so yes, the show is also canon.

When it comes to the best watch order, it’s best to watch ‘The Librarian’ franchise in release date order as the chronology is fairly straightforward.

All ‘The Librarian’ movies and show in chronological order

As we’ve mentioned, the timeline is fairly simple and straightforward, and each subsequent movie references the events of the previous movie. The show also references the movies a lot. Let’s see the chronological order.

1.‘The Librarian: Quest for the Spear’

the librarian quest for the spear

Flynn Carsen is a highly educated but perpetually enrolled college student in his 30s with 22 academic degrees. After being expelled, Flynn receives a magical invitation to interview for a prestigious position at the Metropolitan Public Library. Following a successful but peculiar interview, he learns about the Library’s true nature and his role as the Librarian, tasked with safeguarding historical and magical artifacts, including Pandora’s Box, Tesla’s Death Ray, the Holy Grail, and various other legendary items.


9 Great Fantasy Movies You Probably Didn’t Watch

2. ‘The Librarian: Return to King Solomon’s Mines’

The Librarian Return to King Solomons Mines

In his first year as Librarian, Flynn Carsen faces death-defying missions and learns a valuable lesson from his mentor Judson about sacrificing personal desires for the greater good. On Flynn’s 32nd birthday, a family friend delivers childhood drawings and his father’s amulet, but Flynn’s celebration is interrupted when his apartment is ransacked, and a valuable scroll containing clues to King Solomon’s Mines is stolen.

3. ‘The Librarian: Curse of the Judas Chalice’

The Librarian Curse of the Judas Chalice

Flynn finds himself in a chaotic situation in England, losing his girlfriend Katie while accidentally breaking a priceless Ming vase to reveal the philosopher’s stone. As Flynn defends the stone and races to reconcile with Katie, former KGB agents in Carpathia plan to resurrect Prince Vlad Dracula using the “Judas Chalice.” They kidnap Professor Lazlo, an expert historian, and head to New Orleans under his reluctant guidance.

4. ‘The Librarians’ – 4 seasons

The Librarians

The series introduces four newly recruited individuals by The Library: Colonel Eve Baird, destined to be the new Guardian; Ezekiel Jones, a skilled thief with computer hacking abilities; Cassandra Cillian, a brilliant scientist with a touch of magic; and Jacob Stone, a polymath with expertise in various fields. Although they received invitations to join the Library at the same time as Flynn Carsen, the current Librarian, they initially missed their interviews. Their lives are threatened in the first episode, prompting the Library to reissue their invitations by the end of the second episode.

Where to watch the above-mentioned movies & TV show?

All three movies from ‘The Librarian’ franchise can be streamed on Fubo, Peacock, Roku, and CW. The TV Show can be streamed on CW, PLX, Freeve, and Spectrum, although Spectrum has only one season. Both movies and a show can also be purchased on Apple TV store and Amazon?


50 Best Magic Fantasy Books of All Time

Will there be more ‘The Librarian’ movies?

There are no rumors regarding ‘The Librarian’ franchise when it comes to the movie. However, it will continue in the form of a TV show titled ‘The Librarians: The Next Chapter’ scheduled to be released on CW in 2024 or 2025. Despite the original show being canceled after four seasons, it looks like CW decided to pick it up, and that’s as much as we know. No release date is known at this time, but we will update it when more information is available.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments