Demon Slayer Ranks in Order: Every Rank Explained and Sorted

Demon Slayer Ranks in Order: Every Rank Explained and Sorted

In the world of Demon Slayer, the Demon Slayer Corps is the most important organization for fighting Demons that appear among humans. The Demon Slayer Corps is an organization that has been around since ancient times, dedicating its existence to protecting humanity from demons. There are hundreds of Demon Slayers within the organization, but they are not officially recognized by the government. Now, like every organization, the Demon Slayer Corps also has a specific hierarchical structure and in this article, we are going to explain the Demon Slayer Corps’ ranks and hierarchy to you.

Demon Slayer Corps’ ranks in order

Members of the Demon Slayer Corps are divided into ten different ranks. From lowest rank to highest (left to right), these ranks are:

Mizunoto → Mizunoe → Kanoto → Kanoe → Tsuchinoto → Tsuchinoe → Hinoto → Hinoe → Kinoto → Kinoe
 みずのと  →  みずのえ  →  かのと →  かのえ  → つちのと  →  つちのえ  →  ひのと  →  ひのえ  → きのと → きのえ

Once a Demon Slayer has fully settled into the organization, they are ranked as a member of the lowest rank: Mizunoto. They must complete a number of various missions to eventually climb the ranks and reach the highest rank: Kinoe. After the Final Selection, each member of the Corps has their rank inscribed on their hand through a process called “Wisteria Flower Engraving.” As they progress as members of the Corps, they can check their rank by speaking a password and flexing their arms to reveal their status.

The nature of these ranks has not been revealed in more detail, and it seems that the point was to simply establish a system rather than to provide something with a deeper, symbolic meaning. The five ranks, though, have their names taken from the five elements in Japanese – “mizu” represents water, “ka” represents gold or metal, “tsuchi” represents earth, “hi” represents fire, whereas “ki” represents wood. These are also the terms (although with different readings) used for days of the week in Japanese (save for Monday and Sunday, which are represented by the Moon and the Sun, respectively).


All 14 Sword Colors from Demon Slayer (& Their Meanings)

The Hashira and Tsuguko

Within the Corps, there is an elite group, known as the Hashira. This group includes the nine strongest fighters in the organization. The Nine Hashira, according to their great strength, are the most senior members of the Corps, second only to the head of the organization. To become eligible to join the Hashira, a Demon Slayer must either successfully kill 50 Demons or kill a member of the Twelve Demon Moons, a group of the most powerful demons in existence who directly serve the Demon Lord, Muzan Kibutsuji.

The Hashira are continually looking for a successor who can take their place if they die or retire. A Successor (Tsuguko) is an exceptionally skilled fighter in the Demon Slayer Corps who is designated as the apprentice and eventual successor of one of the Hashira. There are two ways for a Demon Slayer to become a Tsuguko: one can either apply for the position and be accepted or be scouted by one of the current Hashira.

A Tsuguko normally uses the same Breathing Styles as its Hashira, although this is not a strict requirement. The Tsuguko’s goal is to replace their Hashira if and when said Hashira is put in a position where they can no longer fulfill their role within the Demon Slayer Corps, such as when they retire or die.

Each Hashira is assigned to a region that it must protect. They must also obtain information about demons and train to become ever stronger. Hashira Training is a special training session conducted by the Hashira and undertaken by many lower-ranked demon slayers.


‘Demon Slayer’: Does Tanjiro Become a Hashira?

The purpose of this training is to improve the physical abilities and overall health of all Slayers, giving members of the Demon Slayer Corps a better chance of winning the war against the Demons. Each of the Hashira oversees a different part of the training program. Known training includes basic endurance training, flexibility training, speed training, fencing training, hammering training, and strength training.

This training is extremely strenuous; for this reason, the majority of slayers view the workout as an eternal trip to hell, with a few notable exceptions who see the workout as a chance to improve. As a general rule, the Pillars must participate in the training sessions. This is considered a win-win situation for both Pillars and Slayers, as even Pillars improve by constantly being attacked by wave after wave of lower-ranked Slayers.

The Kakushi

Tanjiro is retrieved by the Kakushi

The Kakushi are members of a brigade of people who work with the Demon Slayer Corps. They wear black versions of the standard Demon Slayer uniforms consisting of a gakuran jacket and hakama pants, as well as black headgear and a black and white mask to conceal their identity. The Kakushi are a brigade responsible for different tasks, which can range from providing services to members of the Corps to clearing the battlefield after demon attacks.

Other tasks performed by the Kakushi include: serving as attendants at the Butterfly Estate, where they assist the residents of the manor and those who heal on site; cleaning up the messes often left behind after a big battle; sewing and repairing the uniforms worn by Slayers; transport of people to and from the Swordsmith Village. In some cases, the Kakushi are demon slayers who have been injured and have retired from the Corps. There are also individuals who did not pass the Final Selection exam but became Kakushi in order to still be useful to the Corps.


A younger Kagaya

The Demon Slayer Corps are led by a person known as the leader of the Demon Slayer Corps. Not much is known about the position, but it seems to be somehow tied to the Ubuyashiki family. He is referred to as Oyakata-sama by his subordinates and peers and is also the head of the Ubuyashiki Family. The last leader, before the Corps was disbanded, was Kagaya Ubuyashiki, who was the 97th leader of the Corps.

Kagaya Ubuyashiki spent every day of his life visiting the graves of dead Demon Hunters, until illness chained him to bed. Kagaya became the leader of the Demon Slayer Army at a young age. Kagaya first met Amane when she was 13 when she was 17. She was specifically chosen by a priest to become Kagaya’s wife in order to provide for her medical needs, but he only agreed to the marriage on the condition that she care for him of her own free will.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments