Does Sarada Have a Rinnegan? Her Dōjutsu Explained!

Does Sarada Have a Rinnegan? Her Dōjutsu Explained!

As we all know, Boruto continued the story of Masashi Kishimoto’s Naruto. Now, while a lot of the characters from the original series remained, Boruto also introduced a plethora of new characters that have taken over the protagonist roles from the “old” generation. In this article, we will focus on one of the new generation’s protagonists – Sarada Uchiha, the daughter of Sasuke Uchiha and Sakura Haruno. In the article, we are going to tell you whether she has the Rinnegan as her father did and what other Dōjutsu she has.

Sarada never actually had the Rinnegan. Namely, to activate the Rinnegan, you either have to have it transplanted into you or gain Hagoromo’s chakra in some way. Since Sarada never fulfilled any of these conditions, she doesn’t really have the Rinnegan, although that might change later. The only Dōjutsu that she has at the moment is her Sharingan.

The rest of this article will further elaborate on Sarada’s powers and abilities, as we are going to explain why she does not possess the Rinnegan. The article is going to contain some spoilers about Sarada and her powers and abilities, so be prepared, although we’re not going to reveal too many plot-related details.

Does Sarada have the Rinnegan?

Before we start, we are first going to explain what the Rinnegan is before we actually reveal whether Sarada has it. The Rinnegan is the most powerful of the three major Dōjutsu, the other two being the Byakugan and the Sharingan, all of which can be traced back to the Ōtsutsuki clan. It is also a Kekkei Genkai, but in contrast to the other two eye arts, it is only awakened extremely rarely and can, therefore, not be assigned to any clan. However, Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki’s Rin’negan is a Kekkei Mōra.

The Rinnegan grants the caster godlike abilities and represents an all-purple eye with circles around the iris. According to legend, it is said to be sent from heaven in times of chaos, and its user becomes either a “god of creation” who brings peace to the world or a “destroyer” which reduces the world to nothing. Since it is rarely awakened, almost nothing is known about the circumstances of the same, except that one must be a descendant of Rikudō Sennin since he was the first to awaken the Kekkei Genkai.


Naruto: Sharingan & Rinnegan – What Are They, Evolution, Abilities, and More!

This was possible because Kaguya Ōtsutsuki, his mother, was able to awaken the original Rinne Sharingan beforehand. Madara Uchiha awakened the Rin’negan from its permanent Mangekyō Sharingan shortly before his death. In the Fourth Shinobi World War, he got his eyes back. Nagato got his Rin’negan from Madara Uchiha. However, the exact circumstances of this intervention are not known. Sasuke Uchiha attains the Rinnegan with six tomoe after Rikudō Sennin transfers part of his chakra to him. As with other eye arts, the Rinnegan can also be implanted, as demonstrated by Tobi and Madara in the Fourth Shinobi World War.

The Rinnegan is not a clan-exclusive technique; it can be transplanted onto others. Still, as far as it is known now, Sarada is not able to use the Rinnegan. Although she does have the prerequisites to activate the Rinnegan – she is Sasuke’s daughter, and Sasuke is connected to Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki’s chakra – she has not activated it. Seeing how Sasuke lost his Rinnegan, he cannot transplant it into her. It is possible that Hagoromo’s dormant chakra might be activated later in the story by Sarada. Still, as things stand now, Sarada cannot activate the Rinnegan.

What is Sarada’s Dōjutsu?

But Sarada Uchiha has a Dōjutsu, as we have seen in the series, and we will tell you about it and how she managed to activate it. The Sharingan is the Kekkei Genkai of the Uchiha clan and one of the three major Dōjutsu, the other two being the Byakugan and the Rinnegan. Along with the Byakugan, it is one of the two major Dōjutsu presents in Konohagakure. After activating the jutsu, the owners of the Sharingan have completely red pupils, which, depending on the characteristics, have one to three tomoe. Particularly strong users can further develop the Sharingan into the much stronger Mangekyō Sharingan. It is also called the “Eye of Heaven” due to the many abilities it bestows on the user.

Being a Kekkei Genkai, one must be born as the Sharingan’s blood heir; yet, since it must be awakened first, it is not immediately available to the owner. This occurs either when the user is in danger, when they are confronted with an impasse, or when they are under a lot of emotional strain. The Sharingan can then be turned on or off as needed after that. It is also possible to transplant an already awakened Sharingan into a non-Uchiha or even an animal, but this renders the Sharingan inoperable and significantly raises the non-normal Uchiha’s rate of chakra consumption.

In truth, Danzō Shimura has most of his eleven eyes sealed, while Kakashi Hatake frequently ends up in the hospital for using his Sharingan excessively. Having the Senju clan’s genes implanted, however, seems to be able to reverse the increased chakra consumption, albeit these are also exceedingly challenging to control. A skilled user like Itachi Uchiha was even able to leave his Sharingan in the activated state virtually forever because the consumption seemed to be substantially lower for an Uchiha.


Naruto Eye Techniques: 5 Strongest & 5 Weakest Dōjutsu in the Series

Once activated, the Sharingan is far from fully developed. The number of tomoe, which indicates the eye’s performance, varies depending on the user. With one Tomoe, you can only imitate hand or lip movements. With two, you can anticipate movements and copy techniques. With three Tomoe, the Sharingan is fully developed, and these skills can be increased again.

It is also possible to have different levels of Tomoe in both eyes. By murdering a person very close to the user or similarly cruel or traumatizing events, the user can also awaken the much stronger Mangekyō Sharingan, which is only possible with particularly strong Shinobi, but also non-Uchiha. This can be increased to a permanent Mangekyō Sharingan by implanting other Mangekyō Sharingan, which, unlike its predecessor, does not lose any vision and is even stronger. After that, the permanent Mangekyō Sharingan can even be evolved into a Rinnegan.

Being an Uchiha, Sarada inherited her Kekkei Genkai, the Sharingan. She was able to activate it when she was a small child because of the anticipation of meeting her father, even if it was still in its infancy, and she could only use one tomoe in each eye. While battling Deepa in the anime, Sarada awoke the second tomoe. Sarada roused the three tomoe in both eyes sometime after the Chnin Examinations. He can see through genjutsu, foresee motions, distinguish between different Chakra Flows, and copy techniques thanks to these eyes.

With her ability to see the future, Sarada could evade a rigged weapon thrown at her by a Shin Clone. Likewise, she is capable of performing genjutsu with great skill. Continuing with her ability in the use of Genjutsu, Sarada is practically a prodigy in it, since with a young age and a Sharingan of only one blade, she managed to perform a simple illusion to a full field illusion to defeat Buntan.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments