Naruto: Sharingan & Rinnegan – What Are They, Evolution, Abilities, and More!

Sharingan and Rinnegan: What Are They, Evolution, Abilities, and More!

Humans of Naruto sometimes have very special eyes. These so-called “eye techniques,” the Dōjutsu, give the users more power and possess some special abilities that can be utilized in battle. The Rinnegan, the Sharingan, and the Byakugan are the three great Dōjutsu, and this article is going to be about two of these techniques – the Sharingan and the Rinnegan – as we are going to tell you what they are and some additional information about each of them.

  • Article Breakdown:
  • The Sharingan is the Kekkei Genkai of the Uchiha Clan in Naruto. It is one of the three major Dōjutsu from the series, manifested through a red eye with one or more tomoe. It is extremely powerful
  • The Rinnegan is one of the three major Dōjutsu from the world of Naruto, closely related to the Uchiha Clan, although it is not a Kekkei Genkai. It grants the user god-like powers.
  • In a direct comparison, the Rinnegan is definitely the better of the two techniques due to the diversity of the abilities it grants the user, as well as its power.

Explaining the Sharingan and its evolution


The Sharingan is the Kekkei Genkai of the Uchiha clan and one of the three major Dōjutsu. After activating the jutsu, the owners of the Sharingan have completely red pupils, which, depending on the form, have one to three tomoe (巴). Particularly strong users can further develop the Sharingan into the much stronger Mangekyō Sharingan.

The first Sharingan was awakened by Indra Ootsutsuki, the son of Rikudou Sennin. It is a subform of the Rin’ne Sharingan and the Rin’negan. Since it is a Kekkei Genkai, one must be born with the blood inheritance of the Sharingan, however it is not directly available to the owner and must first be awakened. This occurs either in danger when the user is faced with an impossible situation or under great emotional stress.

Afterward, the Sharingan can be activated or deactivated at will. It is also possible to transplant an already awakened Sharingan to a non-Uchiha or even an animal, but then you cannot deactivate it, which immensely increases chakra consumption, which is generally greater in a non-Uchiha.

The Sharingan grants several important abilities

The abilities of the Sharingan are divided into two basic areas: the “Eye of Insight” and the “Eye of Hypnotism.” The first ability of the Sharingan is the ability to see the chakra and its flow, to recognize and, therefore, to distinguish its colors. The second characteristic is an extremely good and clear vision and, thus, a rapidly increased comprehension ability, which makes it possible to recognize Genjutsu and chakra colors, even if the eye cannot keep up with the Byakugan.


Naruto: 5 Youngest Uchiha to Awaken the Mangekyō Sharingan, Ranked

The third, eponymous, and most famous trait in the ninja world bestowed upon the owner of a Sharingan is the ability to memorize and copy almost any technique, except Kekkei Genkai, that the eye has laid eyes on. The final ability of the Sharingan is its hypnosis ability, which allows one to cast unique Genjutsu that involves capturing the opponent through eye contact, as well as regular Genjutsu such as paralysis, sleep, or interrogation.

Explaining the Rinnegan and its evolution


The Rinnegan is the most powerful of the three major Dōjutsu, the other two being the Byakugan and the Sharingan, all of which can be traced back to the Otsutsuki clan. It is also a Kekkei Genkai, but unlike the other two eye arts, it is only awakened extremely rarely and, therefore, cannot be assigned to a clan. However, Hagoromo Otsutsuki’s Rinnegan is a Kekkei Moura. The Rin’negan grants the user god-like abilities and is depicted as a completely purple eye with circles around the iris. Legend has it that it is sent from heaven in times of chaos, and its user becomes either a “god of creation” who brings peace to the world or a “destroyer” who returns the world to nothingness.

Since it is only very rarely awakened, almost nothing is known about how this is achieved, except that you have to be a descendant of the Rikudou Sennin, as he was the first to awaken the Kekkei Genkai. This was possible because Kaguya Otsutsuki, his mother, was able to awaken the original Rinnesharingan beforehand. As with other eye arts, the Rin’negan can be implanted, as demonstrated by Tobi and Madara in the Fourth Shinobi World War.


Jōgan vs. Rinnegan: Which Dōjutsu Is More Powerful?

The abilities granted by the Rinnegan are quite impressive

The Rinnegan gives the user god-like abilities. Arguably, its most powerful and prominent abilities are the Six Paths, each of which grants the user incredible power, as well as the Seventh Path, which can even be used to resurrect the dead. The user can apply all of these Paths themselves, or transfer them to corpses and Edo Tensei zombies, and then control them using chakra conductors, although always remaining within range. However, controlling the bodies over a long period of time seems to be extremely harmful to the user.

Aside from the Paths, the Rinnegan allows the user to summon Gedou Mazou, a statue capable of absorbing and storing Bijuu or using special chakra chains or, when sealed within one of his bodies, conductors, to control and see chakra and barriers. It also allows the user to read even more of the Rikudou Sennin’s stone tablet hidden in the Naka Shrine than is possible with the Sharingan or the Mangekyou Sharingan. The Rinnegan also makes it possible to use shadowy evasion techniques.

Who has both the Sharingan and the Rinnegan?

It should be noted that characters like Madara, Nagato, and Sasuke wielded both sets of eyes at one point. Mostly acquired through the whole ocular surgery way. There is no easy or safe way for someone to obtain and hold on to these. People will always be hunting for them. 

Is Sharingan stronger and better than the Rinnegan?

When directly compared, one can safely say that the Rinnegan is the way to go. In comparison, the Sharingan makes the user a dangerous and notorious shinobi that can take down hundreds. The Rinnegan makes the shinobi a one-person army with nukes. There is no valid comparison since Rinnegan gifts way too many abilities. It’s Rinnegan all the way.

Who has the most powerful Sharingan?

Sasuke Uchiha had the most powerful Sharingan. Using his Mangekyou Sharingan and Six Paths chakra, he could perform seemingly impossible tasks. He could effectively relay information, enter other people’s subconscious, and suppress the tailed beasts through the use of his prowess.

Who has the most powerful Rinnegan?

Hagoromo Otsutsuki has the most powerful Rinnegan. His skill with the Rinnegan, which he has used since he was a child, is unparalleled. When he created the moon by using the Chibaku Tensei, we saw a fraction of his powers. He summoned a dead Kage from the pure lands and broke the Edo Tensei with his own chakra despite distributing it between Naruto and Sasuke.

Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments