Netflix’s The Witcher Watch Order: Spin-Off and Animated Movie Included


Netflix’s The Witcher is one of the most popular adaptations that the streaming giant has ever created, as it has had a lot of different fans ever since its first season in 2019. The popularity of the series has turned it into a multi-season storyline that has also earned itself a few sequels that were able to tell the story of The Witcher really well. And Henry Cavill’s star power as Geralt of Rivia only made the series more interesting to watch.

Based on the works of author Andrzej Sapkowski and loosely similar to the video games that were based on the same source material, The Witcher’s elements of dark fantasy and lore make it an incredibly entertaining story to follow. So, if you want to watch The Witcher, we’re here to give you the correct watch order based on the timeline of the events.

The Witcher Watch Order At A Glance

Right now, there are three The Witcher projects that you can see on Netflix. However, The Witcher Blood Origin is on its way and is going to be released soon. Meanwhile, the mainline series is already confirmed to have at least four seasons. As such, by the time season 4 rolls out, there should already be a total of six The Witcher projects on Netflix, and here are all of them:

  • The Witcher: Blood Origin (2022)
  • The Witcher: Nightmare Of The Wolf (2021)
  • The Witcher Season 1 (2019)
  • The Witcher Season 2 (2021)


Are The Witcher Games Canon?

  • The Witcher Season 3 (2023)
  • The Witcher Season 4 (TBA)

The Witcher Watch Order

Now that you have a good idea of the correct order to watch The Witcher, let’s look at each series in greater detail.

The Witcher: Blood Origin (2022)

blood origin

The Witcher: Blood Origin is set more than a thousand years before the events of The Witcher and takes place during a time when humans were yet to actually populate the planet. For those who don’t know, humans only started living on the planet due to an event called the Conjunction of the Spheres, which opens portals and gateways between worlds. In that regard, in Blood Origin, the elves were still the ones living on the Continent.

In Blood Origin, we follow seven elven outcasts that try to stop an unstoppable power. We can only assume that this unstoppable power was the Conjunction of the Spheres when the worlds of monsters, men, and elves merged to become one. As such, it also talks about the creation of the prototype Witcher, as the first Witcher can be traced all the way back to the time when elves still dominated the Continent.

The Witcher: Nightmare Of The Wolf (2021)

nightmare of hte wolf

The Witcher: Nightmare of the Wolf is the first spin-off project that’s based on the world of The Witcher. It was released before season 2 of The Witcher so that fans would get introduced to Vesemir, who is one of the most important Witchers in the series and is the mentor of none other than Geralt of Rivia. Of course, Nightmare of the Wolf is actually an animated movie instead of a live-action one.

In Nightmare of the Wolf, we first follow Vesemir as a child as the storyline explores his origin as a Witcher. The animated movie also allows us to see the events that led to the decrease of the Witcher population on the Continent, as we all know that only a few Witchers remained during the events of The Witcher series. We also saw a very young Geralt at the end of Nightmare of the Wolf.

The Witcher Season 1 (2019)


The Witcher season 1 is the first The Witcher series released by Netflix as it introduced Geralt of Rivia and the different characters that form part of the storyline. As such, the story also introduced the two other main characters, who are Yennefer and Ciri. Of course, all three main characters of The Witcher have their own different storylines and timelines in season 1.

What makes season 1 of The Witcher confusing to follow is that all three characters have different timelines. As such, it might be best to learn more about the timeline of events of all of the episodes of season 1 of The Witcher to understand more about the story. But, right at the end of the season, the three timelines converge to make the storyline easier to understand. Also, season 1 talks about how Geralt got into a huge mess as Ciri’s de facto father/guardian.


Is There Nudity in The Witcher? 5 Hottest Scenes

The Witcher Season 2 (2021)


In season 2 of The Witcher, we follow the events that happen right after the final scenes of season 1 when Geralt and Ciri finally meet. It also explores Yennefer’s story as she sought to regain her powers after she used powerful fire magic to repel the forces of Nilfgaard in Sodden Hill at the end of the first season.

Season 2 also introduced the other Witchers left on the Continent as Geralt brought Ciri to their stronghold. Meanwhile, Voleth Meir was introduced as one of the new enemies that Geralt, Yennefer, and the other Witchers need to face, as the entire season also allowed us to see just how powerful Ciri is and how her powers play a role in the cataclysmic event that’s about to come to the world. Season 2 ended with a sighting of the Wild Hunt, which we know are important enemies in the storyline of The Witcher.

The Witcher Season 3 (2023)

Season 3 of The Witcher is set to see a release date in the middle of 2023 as it seeks to continue the storyline that was established at the end of season 2. As of this moment, we aren’t exactly sure what season 3 will be all about, but there is a good reason to believe that it will explore more of the father-daughter or mentor-student relationship between Geralt and Ciri, as the different kingdoms and forces that want to capture her are closing in on the girl.


How Old Is Geralt and How Long Do Witchers Live?

We might even see more of the Wild Hunt in season 3 of The Witcher. But the bad news is that season 3 will be Henry Cavill’s final run as Geralt of Rivia, as it was reported that he would be leaving the series at the end of the season for reasons that aren’t exactly that clear as of the moment. 

The Witcher Season 4 (TBA)

While Henry Cavill might be leaving The Witcher at the end of season 3, the good news is that the series is confirmed to have at least four seasons because season 4 is still going to happen with or without Cavill. Liam Hemsworth will be replacing Henry Cavill as the new Geralt of Rivia. Cavill himself expressed that he was happy enough to pass the sword of Geralt down to Hemsworth.

As of the moment, we don’t know when season 4 of The Witcher will be released or what it will be all about. However, what we do know is that season 4 will continue the events that will be established in season 3 and is set to see a release date as early as the latter part of 2024 or the early or middle parts of 2025.