Which One is The Strongest Pokemon (Top 5 Ranked)
Anime | Fantasy | Top List

Which One is The Strongest Pokémon (Top 5 Ranked)

The world of Pokémon is an ever-expanding universe with new creatures being added to the franchise every once in a while. Still, despite all the newcomers, some Pokémon have endured the test of time and have proven to be stronger and more powerful than others. They are mostly associated the stories of the creation of the world of Pokémon, which is how they have managed to withstand the test of time. Today, we are going to bring you a list of the five strongest Pokémon in the franchise.

Starting from fifth place, the strongest Pokémon in existence are Groudon and Kyogre, Rayquaza, Mew and Mewtwo, the Creation Trio (Palkia, Dialga and Giratina) and Arceus, the god of Pokémon.

Pokémon, which is short for Pocket Monsters, is a media franchise created by Satoshi Tajiri and Ken Sugimori back in 1995. It is a fantasy franchise set in a world where humans live together with creatures called Pokémon, who take on different shapes and sizes. It started off as a series of video games for the Game Boy console, but soon expanded to other media. The video games and the anime (including the connected films) are the most popular brands today, although the franchise has expanded to even live-action movies like Pokémon Detective Pikachu.

Now that we’ve given you a short introduction, let us see the five strongest Pokémon in the franchise.

5) Groudon and Kyogre (Primal Forms)

Primal Groudon and Primal Kyogre

The remaining members of the Weather Trio are Groudon and Kyogre, the creators and rulers of land and water, respectively. They are Legendary Pokémon first introduced in Generation III and have since appeared in both the movies and the anime.

Groudon is a Ground-type Pokémon that is considered to be the creator and ruler of all land in the Pokémon world. Kyogre, on the other hand, is a Water-type Pokémon and the ruler of the seas. Due to their constant need to achieve domination, Groudon and Kyogre are fierce rivals who fight quite often; this is why Rayquaza intervened during their clash, because he was the only one powerful enough to stop them from destroying the world. They are ancient Pokémon that have been in hibernation for a long time, but can be awakened using special items.

In the redesigned Generation III games, Groudon and Kyogre have gone through the process of Primal Reversion, which supposedly activated their ancient, primal powers. These versions can be awakened using a Red (Groudon) and Blue (Kyogre) Orb. While Primal Kyogre remains a pure Water-type Pokémon, Primal Groudon becomes a dual Ground/Fire type.

4) Rayquaza

Rayquaza in the anime

Rayquaza is a dual Dragon/Flying-type Pokémon first introduced in Generation III. He is the internal Trio Master of the Weather Trio and the only Pokémon able to control and subdue Kyogre and Groudon. He is the legendary ruler of the skies, being able to control the weather in the atmosphere.

Rayquaza is immensely powerful and is – in a way – the protector of Earth, as sin in the movie Destiny Deoxys, where he fought a Deoxys he thought was there to invade the planet. A Shiny iteration appeared later in the anime. Although Pokémon trio’s are usually all of equal strength, Rayquaza is more powerful than Groudon and Kyogre, his two counterparts.

In the redesigned Generation III video games, Rayquaza is given the ability to Mega Evolve. It is now believed that he is the first Pokémon ever to have Mega Evolved.

3) Mew and Mewtwo (The Mew Duo)

Mew and Mewtwo

The fan term Mew Duo refers to the Pokémon Mew and Mewtwo, two Pokémon introduced in Generation I. Mew is a Mythical Pokemon, while Mewtwo is a Legendary Pokémon.

Mew is the ancestor of all Pokémon, being responsible for the creation of new species. For a long time, scientist thought that Mew was just a myth, before he was actually discovered in South America. He plays a major role in the first Pokémon movie and makes several appearances later on. He is a Psychic-type Pokémon and is able to learn every possible attack.

As for Mewtwo, he is actually an artificial Pokémon, a clone created by Team Rocket from a piece of Mew’s DNA. He was created to be used as a weapon by Team Rocket, but he became self-conscious and escaped his creators, starting to resent humans in the process and wanting to take revenge on them. He is also a major character in the first movie and has made several later appearances. Mewtwo is also a Psychic Pokémon and has two Mega Evolutions – Mewtwo X (a dual Psychic/Fighting-type) and Mewtwo Y – both of which have appeared in the anime.

2) The Creation Trio

From left to right: Palkia, Giratina and Dialga

The Creation Trio is a group of Legendary Pokémon created by Arceus, first introduced in Generation IV as part of the Sinnoh mythos. All three of them are extremely powerful and they are grouped together as “one Pokémon” because their powers are completely equal.

All three are dual type Dragon Pokémon, with Palkia being a Water/Dragon type, Dialga a Steel/Dragon type and Giratina a Ghost/Drago type Pokémon. When they were created, each of them got their own respective realms to control. Palkia was given control of space and Dialga of time, while Giratina was banished to the Distortion World due to its violent nature; there, Giratina controls antimatter in a world where time doesn’t pass and space is completely distorted. All three of them appeared in the Diamond and Pearl movie trilogy.

Although considered to be rivals, Palkia and Dialga aren’t generally violent and will only attack if threatened, as shown in the movies. Giratina, on the other hand, is violent and tends to cause chaos and havoc without any meaningful reason. The Lake Guardians, also created by Arceus, have the task of calming down Palkia and Dialga in case they get enraged.

1) Arceus

Arceus in the movie Arceus and the Jewel of Life

Arceus is the god of the Pokémon world, the first Pokémon ever and quite possibly the last one to ever exist. He inhabits a special world of his own (known as Arceus’ World) and is usually credited as the creator of the whole Pokémon universe, along with some other Legendary Pokémon; Arceus himself is a Mythical Pokémon and is known as “The Original One”. He was first introduced in Generation IV and is a Sinnoh-based Pokémon.

Arceus is a Normal-type Pokémon with no known evolutions, but with the ability to change shape and type when carrying a Plate or a specific Z-Stone. He is omnipotent and omniscient, although the full extent of his powers was never revealed. He had a major role in the movie Arceus and the Jewel of Life, and another cameo appearance in another movie.

He is credited with creating both the Creation Trio and the Lake Guardians, two groups of Legendary Pokémon that had a strong influence on how the world of Pokémon evolved. This is why he is considered to be the Trio Master (a fan term for a Pokémon that can control various trio’s in the franchise) of both groups.

Fun fact: In an episode of House, M.D., the title character, Gregory House, mentions Arceus in a mocking response to a member of his team, saying that he did indeed create the universe. You can see the scene for yourselves:

And this is it for today. You have seen the five strongest Pokémon in the whole franchise and the powers they posses, so you can now use the information to debate with your friends; we hope we’ve been helpful. See you next time, and don’t forget to follow us!

Similar Posts