Does Naruto Still Have Sage of Six Paths? Here’s What We Know

Does Naruto Still Have Sage of Six Paths 1

Boruto: Naruto Next Generation gave us the heart-wrenching ending for our favorite Tailed Beast Kurama, who was Naruto’s friend and ally for a long time. The loss of Kurama sparked the old discussion from Naruto forums if Naruto is still using Sage of Six Paths Mode and if he ever lost after the fight against Sasuke in the Valley of the End. Many fans agree and disagree on this topic because the Naruto and Boruto series showcased Masashi Kishimoto’s tendency to forget essential details in their artwork that will confirm or “debunk” some theories. In Boruto, Naruto is seen using his usual Kyuubi Mode, with Baryon Mode being the ultimate transformation that cost him his friend Kurama. However, the question remains: Does Naruto still have Sage of Six Paths Mode?

  • Article Breakdown:
  • After losing Kurama, the writers still didn’t confirm if Naruto still has Sage of Six Paths Mode.
  • However, if we look into Naruto’s tendencies in using his modes, we have to say that Naruto still has access to Sage of Six Paths Mode after the ending of Naruto Shippuden.
  • Some fans speculate Naruto lost his Sage of Six Paths Mode after the Naruto series, but we saw him using it in Boruto.
  • Regardless, we have yet to see Naruto using SoSPM after losing Kurama, and we’ll need to wait for confirmation from the writers.

Does Naruto have access to Sage of Six Paths Mode after the Fourth Shinobi War?

One of the biggest debate points was whether Naruto still has Sage of Six Paths Mode, and just when we thought the topic would die out, the recent loss of Kurama sparked this topic once more. In the fight against Isshiki Ōtsutsuki, both Sasuke and Naruto lost important parts of their power arsenal and parts of themselves that carried them for a very long time. Sasuke lost his Rinnegan, Naruto lost Kurama, and the most powerful shinobi in the world got significantly weaker.

However, before we delve deeper into the article’s topic, let’s establish the Six Paths Mode definition. According to the Naruto series lore, Six Paths Sage Mode is a divine transformation gifted by Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki to those who are strong-willed and unwilling to give up. Of course, the mode significantly enhances the wielder’s chakra, powers, and strength, and one develops new abilities and techniques.

hagoromo giving power to sasuke and naruto
Hagoromo bestows his Six Paths Chakra and powers on Naruto and Sasuke

When Naruto first transformed into Sage of Six Paths Mode, his pupils of the standard Sage Mode were modified by fox slits that vertically cut the horizontal toad lines. In Naruto Shippuden, our main hero used Six Paths Sage Mode combined with Kyuubi Chakra Mode. He could use and kick away Truth-Seeking Balls sent by Madara Uchiha, who at that point became a Ten-Tail jinchuuriki.

Now, in true Naruto passion, a few Six Paths Transformations confused the fans (including me) – Sage of Six Paths Mode and usage of Six Paths Senjutsu. When Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki gifted his power and chakra to Naruto and Sasuke, one awakened Six Paths Sage Mode, while the other got access to Rinnegan.


Here Is Why Sasuke Cannot Use Sage Mode!

What does Six Paths Senjutsu has with Sage of Six Paths Mode? Well, Senjutsu means Sage Techniques, and it’s a special field of jutsu that involves using natural energy. The shinobi who use Senjutsu are called sages. Naruto was taught by Jiraiya the standard Sage Mode, and when Hagoromo Ōtsutsuki bestowed him with his powers and Six Paths Chakra, Naruto’s power increased tenfold.

Let’s break it down. Naruto’s Six Paths Sage Mode is run on standard Sage Mode, Hagoromo’s chakra, the chakra of other Tailed Beasts, and Kurama’s that recreated Ten Tails chakra, giving Naruto access to Six Paths Senjutsu. In other words, Naruto is almost a godlike shinobi that only Kaguya Ōtsutsuki and Madara Uchiha could replicate.

sage of six paths mode

What confused the fans was whether Naruto still could transform in SoSP Mode and if he had access to Bijuu chakra and Hagoromo’s Six Paths Chakra. It was confirmed that Naruto has access to SoSP Mode and other Bijuu chakra, but Naruto doesn’t use it the same way he did it in Shippuden.

The sequel to the Naruto series filled a lot of plot holes and gaps from Naruto Shippuden. Still, it also confused many fans, especially regarding the continuity of powers and transformations from the original series. Boruto series confirmed that adult Naruto has access to Six Paths Sage Mode, but the artistic choice of the transformation in Boruto looks almost the same as a regular KC Mode.

Who would have thought that color schemes in anime would be so important? Well, the fans did, and rightfully so. Naruto regularly uses Sage of Six Paths Mode in the Boruto series but combines it with Kyuubi Chakra Mode, not using Six Paths Senjutsu. If Naruto used Six Paths Senjutsu with SoSP Mode, he would have wild truth-seeking orbs, the Rinnegan and magatama symbols on his chest, and his cloak.

The simple explanation why Naruto doesn’t use full-blown Sage of Six Paths Chakra Mode is because he doesn’t need to – SoSP Mode and KCM combined are enough in most battles, as we saw against Momoshiki.


Here’s How Fast Naruto Is in All of His Modes

Does Naruto have Sage of Six Paths Mode after Kurama died?

Finally, does Naruto have Sage of Six Paths Mode after Kurama died? He actually does. What confused the fans the most was the character’s design in the Sage of Six Paths Mode and whether this elite mode had anything to do with Kurama. It does, and we saw that a lot in the Boruto series. But let’s look into Naruto Shippuden and Naruto’s Sage of Six Paths Mode. We will see that the Kurama’s chakra is essential in creating a cloak and recreation of the Ten-Tails chakra, which Naruto used to manipulate truth-seeking orbs, which is tightly connected to Six Paths Senjutsu.

adult naruto 1300x731 1

In conclusion, Naruto can still use Sage of Six Paths Mode but cannot use Six Paths Senjutsu, which provides him with manipulation of truth-seeking orbs and other “godly” techniques. Kurama’s loss is huge for Naruto physically and emotionally, and the Seventh Hokage is weaker than before. However, Nine-Tails’ death didn’t remove Naruto’s ability to enter Sage Mode and Six Paths Chakra.

Naruto is yet to use his Six Paths Sage Mode in Boruto after his fight with Isshiki Ōtsutsuki, which cost him the loss of his Tailed Beast companion, so we will have to wait for a bit more to confirm this notion. It was never confirmed that Sage of Six Paths Mode has strong connections to Kyuubi chakra – Hagoromo gave Naruto his gift because he thought of Uzumaki as worthy of his power. Besides, Naruto is a descendant of Hagoromo himself, and his body and chakra match the Ōtsutsuki chakra, which greatly helped.

Nevertheless, we’re still waiting for the confirmation of the Boruto writers, and hopefully, they won’t confuse us once more. Have something to add? Let us know in the comments below!

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments