DC (Franchise)

DC Comics is an American comic book publisher and the flagship unit of DC Entertainment. DC was founded in 1934 by Malcolm Wheeler-Nicholson and over the years managed to become one of the largest American comic books companies. Over the years DC managed to create some of the most iconic superhero characters like Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash, and many others! DC specializes in creating works based on the superhero, fantasy, science fiction, and action-adventure genre.
DCU (Cinematic Universe)
The DC Universe (DCU) is a media franchise and shared universe based on characters from DC Comics, created by James Gunn and Peter Safran. It serves as a soft reboot of the previous DC Extended Universe (DCEU), retaining some cast members while introducing new ones. Unlike previous adaptations, the DCU presents a unified continuity across live-action films, television, animation, and video games. Any adaptations that diverge from this continuity are labeled as “DC Elseworlds.”